Using VirtualBox to install Windows XP on the MBA

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by erutpar, Nov 27, 2013.

  1. erutpar macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    #1
  2. Dweez macrumors 65816

    Dweez

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Location:
    Down by the river
    #2
    In a word, yes. I use both VMware Fusion and Virtual Box on my MBP and MBA.
     
  3. MyopicPaideia macrumors 68000

    MyopicPaideia

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Location:
    Trollhättan, Sweden
    #3
    Exactly the same answer. Was using VMware Fusion until I tried VirtualBox, which has all the core functionality of VMWare or Parallels that you need, but doesn't have the option of the pretty invisible UI if you want to pretend you're not using Windows.

    It is also not quite as optimised for 3D gaming etc. on the other hand, it is free, and for basic productivity stuff like Office it is stellar.
     
  4. erutpar thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    #4
    Just what I wanted to hear. Thank you my friends.
     
  5. dbroncos78087 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    #5
    It should work just fine. I believe the Intel is key and that hasn't changed.

    I don't know how it compares, but since it's free I would give it a shot.
     

Share This Page