using western digital harddrive

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by jjd114, Oct 10, 2008.

  1. jjd114 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    #1
    My dad has gotten me a western digital 500gb harddrive. When i went to transfer some audio and video files from a video project from one computer, it doesnt let me move them to the harddrive. It seems as though the drive has protection against media files. So really, i dont know the use of this anymore. Is there a way, when im shooting digital video, to record straight to this drive so that i can bypass the capture process? I hope i can find a good use for it, so please let me know.
     
  2. NRose8989 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #2
    Did you format the drive? if not try this because chances are that its the factory supplied software (which is always crap).

    as far as recording straight to the drive, i don't think that it's possible without a bunch of extra hardware.
     
  3. matperk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Location:
    Milwaukee, Wisconsin
    #3
    As the poster said above me, you'll have to format it. All drives come in FAT32 format, which can only support files up to around 4gb, and it will fail without a descriptive warning when it hits that point. Use Disk Utility to format it into HFS+ (the Mac OS Journaled format). Then you can put whatever size files on it you want.

    Recording straight to the drive is not possible without extra hardware.
     
  4. jrbswim1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    #4
    After formatting your drive so that it's Mac compatible, you can totally record straight to the HD. Just use iMovie to capture straight from your camera. No extra hardware needed!
     
  5. Courtaj macrumors 6502a

    Courtaj

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Location:
    Edinburgh, U.K.
    #5
    Western Digital drives come ready-formatted in HFS+ for Mac. So assuming the drive was new and clean when you got a hold of it, it should already be in HFS+. Nonetheless, backing up whatever you've got on there, reformatting, and trying it again isn't a terrible idea.

    Andrew.
     
  6. NRose8989 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #6
    Um...... That's using the capture process...

    There is no way to get clips from your camcorder directly to a external hard drive without extra hardware.

    You could use some sort of DVR set top box w/HDMI input and some sort of external storage ports to get clips from the camera onto a hard drive without the capture process (or computer in general). though i don't know if there is any product like this currently on the market.
     
  7. matperk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Location:
    Milwaukee, Wisconsin
    #7
    Only the Mac branded ones are, the rest are FAT32. But like you said, it's easier just to format.
     

Share This Page