using wifi in hotel

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by glen e, May 14, 2011.

  1. glen e macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Location:
    Ft Lauderdale
    #1
    I am using my 2Gig MBA (yes, enuf for me) in hotel training sessions using Keynote and my iphone using the App "Keynote remote". The two connect using wifi (not BT) and as long as they are on the same network, the remote sees the MBA fine. However, some hotels refuse to let the two hook up even though they are paited. Really eliminates one of the things I bought the MBA for, -->using the phone as a remote.

    Again, I stress that as soon as I return home to my own wifi, the i4 phone remote sees the MBA and vice versa perfectly.

    I'm sure the answer is "it's the hotel wifi" - yes, I realize that, but is there any possible setting on the MBA or workaround to use this feature I so need? I'm not giving my presentations at home! I have an appt late next week for the Geek bar at my apple store but have a presentation to do monday.

    Thanks
     
  2. hansenc macrumors 6502

    hansenc

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    #2
    Do you need to have internet on the mba during the presentation?

    If you don't you could always "create a network" and join your phone to that network.

    Most Hotels do this for security, you wouldn't want someone else's laptop infecting your laptop with a virus (I know its a mac but it can happen).
     
  3. glen e thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Location:
    Ft Lauderdale
    #3
    no I don't need it really, for the MBA - so you mean buy an airport device?

    I don't have tethering no do I want to do that on my phone as it is expense

    advice?
     
  4. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #4
    You're probably behind the hotel's firewall. See if they have a "public IP" option and if so, give that a try.
     
  5. glen e thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Location:
    Ft Lauderdale
    #5
    10-4 - I'll go to a free access place like the ft laud airport and see...
     
  6. jeremiah256 macrumors 6502a

    jeremiah256

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Location:
    Southern California
    #6
    Hansenc...

    Is suggesting you use your MBA and create a Wifi network (ad hoc network) between your computer and your phone. You will be able to use your phone as a remote without any additional software or hardware. A quick search on the Internet and you can find how to do it.

     
  7. glen e thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Location:
    Ft Lauderdale
    #7
    got it - done - thank you - works perfectly now....
     
  8. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #8
    No, it can't happen. There has never been a virus in the wild that affects Mac OS X since it was released 10 years ago. The handful of trojans that exist can be easily avoided with some education and common sense and care in what software you install:
     
  9. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #9
    I'm not sure if you're trying to be flippant or not, but most hotels have a third-party service provider for their wifi and those providers usually have a firewall between your devices and the internet to prevent malware infections. Most of them have a "public IP" option which bypasses the firewall and allows "direct" access to the 'net.
     
  10. glen e thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Location:
    Ft Lauderdale
    #10
    I was not..ft laud is public free....no sign in, etc . but problem solved 5 posts ago with the ad-hoc suggestion
     

Share This Page