Using Winclone

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by majordude, Aug 24, 2008.

  1. majordude macrumors 68020

    majordude

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Location:
    Hootersville
    #1
    How do I restore a partition?

    Let's say I get a new HD and install OS X 10.5 (fresh). Then I download and install Winclone. Do I have to install Boot Camp before going any further or can I just restore the Windows partition?
     
  2. CWallace macrumors 601

    CWallace

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #2
    You need to have a pre-existing partition to restore into. It does not have to be the same size, but it should be at least as large.

    I use Boot Camp to re-partition and then restore my Winclone image into it.
     
  3. majordude thread starter macrumors 68020

    majordude

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Location:
    Hootersville
    #3
    So I need to install BC and then install XP (before overwriting it with Winclone)?
     
  4. aiterum macrumors 6502

    aiterum

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    United States
    #4
    no all you need to do is create the partition
    winclone will format it to NTFS for you and then restore your image from there. no installation of windows required
     
  5. BrownPlopz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Location:
    Behind you, I'm your shadow...
    #5
    Exactly. All you need to do is run the BC Setup Assistant, create the partition, and when it comes time to insert your Windows install disc, you simply quit the assistant. From there, you run Winclone, and restore your Windows partition by going to restore, selecting you old backup, and choosing your newly created empty NTFS partition.
     

Share This Page