Using without activiating

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by iFalcon, Sep 20, 2007.

  1. iFalcon macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    #1
    Thanks to all of you, I'm about ready to become an iPhone junkie. I tried to stay away, but can't.

    The question I have is I plan to stick with our Sprint service because of coverage, but would like the iPhone because of the benefits I see over the Touch.

    Can I unlock it's features without activation if I'm using a Windows XP machine and do not have access to a AT&T sim card? I'm probably wrong, but it seems some of the methods to make this occur require another sim card.

    Thanks for the input and convincing me to join the iSilly club...LOL.
     
  2. cazlar macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #2
    Yep, you just need to activate it with some other program (I used iNdependence on my Mac). I think iBrikr does it for Windows?

    The SIM card should not matter.
     
  3. ivi7 macrumors 6502a

    ivi7

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    #3
    You can unlock the phone and use all the other features except the phone since Sprint is a cdma carrier and not GSM. So if you dont have a sim card you cant use the "phone" part of the iphone.
     
  4. Scribble1412 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    #4
  5. zub3qin macrumors 65816

    zub3qin

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    #5
    What is so bad about activating via AT&T.
    Then cancelling in 1 day.

    You get no termination fee, and I think they refund your activation fee as well.
    I am not sure if there are other charges placed on your account.

    Has anyone tried this?
    This to me is the safest since it involves no hacking and how is Apple
     

Share This Page