using Xcode for c++ . . .

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by theturban, Nov 9, 2011.

  1. theturban macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    #1
    I'm taking a 200 level course in college right now and I'm using my Mac to code. I was using Xcode 3.x and it was amazing and it worked really well (with some minor exceptions). When I upgraded, everything looks great but I have one problem.

    After compiling/building, I can't test the program at all! There's no command window or output window for me to execute or use the program! I can't submit an untested product to my professor. Does anyone know how to get this to work?
     
  2. jiminaus macrumors 65816

    jiminaus

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Location:
    Sydney
    #2
  3. theturban thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    #3
    there's nothing there at all. When I open up the console (shift+cmd+C), then build and run, nothing shows up. I'm getting so frustrated, I'm about to just get a different program -__- lol
     
  4. jiminaus macrumors 65816

    jiminaus

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Location:
    Sydney
    #4
    There's some thing wrong because it the very least you should see the guff that gdb spews out when it starts.

    What about if you create a new command-line project that just prints hello world. Does that work for you?
     
  5. chrono1081 macrumors 604

    chrono1081

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Isla Nublar
    #5
    Did you definitely click the little icons in the upper right corner? Specifically the middle View button? That should bring up your console.
     

Share This Page