USM Lenses.. Worth it?

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by Abyssgh0st, Jan 13, 2010.

1. Abyssgh0st macrumors 68000

Abyssgh0st

Hey everybody,

I'm pretty new to photography, so this may be a novice question. My parents have a USM lens for their Rebel T1i and it seems pretty nice, so I'm interested in getting one myself. **
    The lenses I'm looking at are portrait type lenses, specially I'm looking at these:

1. Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM.*
    2.*Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II.*

I know the USM will be a bit faster and quieter, but is it really worth a ~$200 difference?*

FYI: The two lenses I have now is the stock EF-S 18-55mm IS, and an EF-S 55-250 IS, both by Canon.*

Thanks! *

2. Edge100 macrumors 68000

USM is not the only difference between these lenses. First, the 50/1.4 is two-thirds of a stop faster than the 50/1.8 (i.e. larger maximum aperture). Second, the build quality of the 50/1.4 is vastly better than the 50/1.8.

Image quality is a bit better on the 1.4, though the 1.8 actually turns out some decent performance. The quality of the background blur (bokeh) you get with the 1.4 is MUCH nicer than what you get from the 1.8.

If you ask me, the difference in price is completely justified. That's not to say you shouldn't get the 1.8; it's a decent entry level lens, and a good way to get into prime lenses. But the 1.4 is much better.

3. Abyssgh0st thread starter macrumors 68000

Abyssgh0st

@Edge100- Yeah I knew about the aperture difference, I just forgot to write about it. In regards to the build quality, is it really that much of a difference?

The USM is obviously a better lens, so I might just end up getting that one if I can justify it.

4. iBookG4user macrumors 604

iBookG4user

The autofocus on the 50mm ƒ/1.4 is prone to malfunctioning. Although the autofocus on the ƒ/1.8 is not great either. Look at the Sigma 50mm ƒ/1.4, it is better than both if you get a good one.

5. Edge100 macrumors 68000