UT2004 in Leopard - yes or no?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by nagromme, Nov 6, 2007.

  1. nagromme macrumors G5

    nagromme

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    #1
    I'm try to figure out the real status. Does UT2004 run in Leopard on Intel, or only on PPC? Does repairing permissions in Leopard break UT2004?

    So I'd be grateful for the following answers from people:

    1. Can you run UT2004 in Leopard? (If not, what happens?)

    2. Are you on PPC or Intel?

    3. Have you repaired permissions in Leopard?


    My answers:

    1. No. A short bounce and then a crash-report window, which has a log showing "dyld: Library not loaded: @executable_path/libSDL-1.2.0.dylib"

    2. Intel.

    3. Yes, I did repair perms--but I never tried UT2004 beforehand so I don't know if that's an issue.

    Thanks!

    (PS, if you're doing a fresh install and the installer itself won't launch, get this updated installer. And you'll want the latest patch for the game.)
     
  2. marioman38 macrumors 6502a

    marioman38

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Elk Grove, CA
    #2
    Yes, no issues at all...

    Intel (C2D MBP)

    No Not Yet...

    Fresh install BTW, used updated installer + patched before playing...
     
  3. Luis macrumors 65816

    Luis

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Location:
    Costa Rica
  4. voyagerd macrumors 65816

    voyagerd

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Location:
    Rancho Cordova, CA
    #4
    UT2004 works great on my PPC. I have repaired permissions.
     
  5. tbeeghly macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    #5
    Try going to ~/users/X/Library/Application Support/ and delete the Unreal Tournament 2004 folder. That worked for me.
     
  6. socamx macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    #6
    Macbook Pro and PowerMac G5... both work fine with UT2004.

    Just remember if you delete your Application Support UT2004 folder you are deleting all your game settings. So don't empty trash until you're sure that's the issue.

    ...but you probably knew that anyway.
     
  7. Lute macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    #7
    1. Can you run UT2004 in Leopard? (If not, what happens?)

    2. Are you on PPC or Intel?

    3. Have you repaired permissions in Leopard?

    My answers:

    1. No, Displays Splash screen then it crashes.

    2. Intel Mac Pro 2.6 7300gt

    3. Tried before repair permissions and crashed, repaired permissions and crash anyway

    Weeks on this problem cant find any info yet =(
     
  8. fanbrain macrumors 6502

    fanbrain

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    So. UT
    #8
    Installed the demo on my 1.67 PPC Powerbook and it worked great.

    Yesterday I installed the full version on my 2.0 G5 PPC and it worked great too. I have yet to install the latest version of the game though.

    Both machines have the latest version of Leopard.

    I don't remember if I have repaired permissions since I installed the program.
     
  9. sil3nc3 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    #9
    i just copied my Unreal Tournament 2004 folder from my iPod onto my new 20" iMac. (saved having to download patches) and it works without a hitch. i just didn't copy my progress data, but no biggie.
     
  10. marioman38 macrumors 6502a

    marioman38

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Elk Grove, CA
  11. Luap macrumors 65816

    Luap

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    #11
    Works fine in Leopard here.. Inc after permissions repairs.
    iMac 2.4ghz 20" 2gb ram.
     
  12. Kosh66 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    #12
    Runs great on my Mac Pro dual 3.0 with X1900XT and I play every day or two for a couple of hours.
     
  13. Kosh66 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    #13
    Runs great on my Mac Pro dual 3.0 with X1900XT and I play every day or two for a couple of hours.... oops wait, I haven't upgraded to Leopard...
     
  14. iLao macrumors member

    iLao

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Location:
    Slovenia
    #14
    1. YES
    2. Intel
    3. YES

    BTW, it works awesome!
     
  15. Kosh66 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    #15
    Well, I did upgrade to Leopard and it's still working.
     
  16. Killyp macrumors 68040

    Killyp

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    #16
    1, Yes, runs very well. Seen it running on a few MacBooks and another MacBook Pro in school, all under Leopard. Runs great.

    2, Intel, although it did run on my G3 (although it was closer to a slideshow than a game, plus it was only under Tiger)

    3, Nope, never repaired permissions in Leopard.
     

Share This Page