UT2K4 Campus LAN

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by tbeeghly, Nov 2, 2007.

  1. tbeeghly macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    #1
    My friend and I are having trouble getting a LAN game going on our college wireless network. We both have MBPs, mine a CD w/ Leopard and his a C2D w/ Tiger. We got CS:Source to work on our Windows side using a hardline and a router, but we cannot get UT2K4 to work with either a hardline or a wireless LAN. One of us will start a listen server, but it does not show up in the list of LAN games. If you need anymore info on the setup let me know. Thanks for the help.
     
  2. hankolerd macrumors 6502

    hankolerd

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #2
    Are you both using mac's or windows versions? I had trouble when trying to network osx and windows versions. worked fine for a while..but then stopped working, and I never got it to work again.:apple:
     
  3. MrMacMan macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #3
    often times its version differences.
    see if the versions are different and get the latest patches.
     
  4. tbeeghly thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    #4
    We're both using the Mac version. I straight up copied the app into his folder so we are running identical versions. We can't get a LAN party going, but we can both join the same Internet server at the same time, with the same serial key. I dont know how that works exactly. . .
     
  5. nagromme macrumors G5

    nagromme

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    #5
    What happens if you wire DIRECLTLY to him--instead of using the campus network?

    What happens if you create an Internet server (with the Advertise Server option on)--can he join you then? You could always use a password.

    And most importantly: have you opened the ports in your firewall? That's needed for hosting UT2004. Try turning off the OS X firewall as a test of this.

    BTW, to change his key so he's using his OWN key, right-click UT2004 and choose Show Package Contents. Then inside system is a "cdkey" file you can edit. (Not related to your current issue though I don't think.)
     
  6. hankolerd macrumors 6502

    hankolerd

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #6
    I don't know if UT2004 is one of the games that requires you have different keys to network or not. Some games require you to have different keys. So let me get this straight...you can both get in the lobby..but when one person creates a game the other can't see it. Is that right?:apple:
    I've never had anyone else with the mac version to test it with so I don't really have any experience with your specific problem, whatever it may be.
     
  7. nagromme macrumors G5

    nagromme

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    #7
    Also note that if you intend to run any non-standard (not included with the game) mutators or mods, you need to set up ServerPackages. A whole other can of worms. Custom maps "just work" (more or less) but other stuff is trickier to host.

    But even without the proper ServerPackages, you'd still show up in the list.

    I think blocked ports are the most likely problem. Here you can find the ports you need to open or forward (for UDP and TCP) in any firewalls or routers:

    http://www.gameranger.com/help/ports/
    UT needs 7777 and 7787. (Plus an additional port if you wish to use WebAdmin.)

    And another thought--if he's elsewhere on campus, are you REALLY on the same LAN at all?
     

Share This Page