Uverse and MAC MINI = home network instability

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by ElliotR, Jul 19, 2010.

1. ElliotR macrumors newbie

I'm no networking expert, so I will try to explain the issue I am having as simply as possible, forgive me if this is missing important technical info!

Downstairs in the living room I have a Uverse router with a Western Digital LIVE TV media player (with attached Passport 500GB hard drive) connected to it to play videos on my TV

Upstairs I have a MAC MINI (OS X 10.5.8) using AIRPORT
    and a PC (WIN XP SP2) using Ethernet cable

The PC and THE MAC are both set up with SHARED FOLDERS so I can transfer files back and forth between them and transfer media files to the WD TV LIVE's attached hard drive.

Here's the thing....

THe PC ALWAYS connects with the MAC, the network and the Passport HD.
    But while the MAC MINI always connects to Uverse's WIFI signal
    it randomly loses its connection to both the PC and to the Passport. (Even when the PC can connect to the MAC, the MAC cannot seem to connect to the PC!) Strangely enough, the PC AND the PASSPORT HD BOTH show up in the left hand side of my FINDER bar under the "SHARED" arrow
    ..but when i click on them - i just get a spinning wheel in the right hand corner of the folder

Sometimes my MAC will stay connected for days - sometimes it loses the connection several times a day. The only way to fix this is to reboot the MAC.....which is a pain. Resetting the Uverse router seems to have no effect.
    When I hook Ethernet cable up to mac min and swtich off airport
    I still have the same problems

ANY IDEAS? It's driving me nuts.

2. Corruptitudes macrumors regular

Ive had similar issues. I was able to resolve it by changing the ip address on the machine having the problem. Have you tried manually resetting the ip address?

3. ElliotR thread starter macrumors newbie

I don't know how to do that. Do i need to get a new ip address from Att?

4. skorpien macrumors 68020