Vector based maps

Discussion in 'iOS 6' started by cclloyd, Sep 29, 2012.

  1. cclloyd macrumors 68000

    cclloyd

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Location:
    Alpha Centauri A
    #1
    Does the vector based part mean that unlike the iOS 5 maps app, once it loads that small chunk of maps, I can zoom in and it will instantly be clear and not pixely, unlike iOS 5 where I zoom in and it has to reload that chunk?

    To put it simply, I can zoom, in and out instantly?
     
  2. itickings macrumors 6502a

    itickings

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    #2
    It doesn't have to reload the chunk when zooming in, but it most likely has to load additional data to render a more detailed view. When zooming out, it obviously have to download data for unseen areas.

    But yes, overall very smooth compared to the iOS5 maps. Just too bad the new one can't find any of the streets I need. :p
     
  3. cclloyd thread starter macrumors 68000

    cclloyd

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Location:
    Alpha Centauri A
    #3
    But don't you think that if you zoomed in/out that it would keep the data it has when RAM is available, so it would show instantly?

    and so any streets that I can see when I zoom in will already be loaded and clear when I zoom in?
     
  4. KnightWRX macrumors Pentium

    KnightWRX

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    #4
    It's exactly as itickings described it. As you zoom out, it'll load more of the surrounding vectors, as you zoom in, it doesn't need to load map data, but it needs to load in the extra details.

    There is probably some caching going on (every well designed app of this genre would do some caching to save on data charges) to prevent unnecessary duplication of information.
     
  5. JesalTV Guest

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Location:
    London
    #5
    Yep.

    It's a shame that Apple released it half-baked. It actually has a lot of brilliant features, and brilliant smoothness that actually makes Google Maps look a bit village.

    But it is a case of style over substance! Let's hope they improve it asap.
     
  6. faroZ06 macrumors 68040

    faroZ06

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    #6
    I noticed that Apple Maps is a lot smoother than Google Maps, but the navigation isn't very good.
     
  7. KnightWRX macrumors Pentium

    KnightWRX

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    #7
    It's not. It's smoother than Apple's previous app was, but Google Maps has had vector support since 2010, so it's as smooth as this... except it's been like that for a while now. Apple's previous app just didn't have access to the vector tiles and thus used the bitmap tiles.
     
  8. itickings macrumors 6502a

    itickings

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    #8
    Yes, data it has. If you start looking at the map on a particular zoom level, there is no reason to load data that is much more detailed than what is going to be rendered at that zoom level, just like it won't load data for stuff that is far off the screen.

    It renders what data it already has instantly when zooming in/out, and renders additional data when it has been downloaded.
     
  9. KnightWRX macrumors Pentium

    KnightWRX

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    #9
    To be fair, there's probably quite a bit of pre-fetching and guessing going on so that the zoom ins/outs are instantaneous.
     
  10. itickings macrumors 6502a

    itickings

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    #10
    Hence my use of "much more detailed" and "far off the screen". I completely agree that any sane implementation would perform quite a bit of pre-fetching and reasonably try to predict the user's moves.
     
  11. cclloyd thread starter macrumors 68000

    cclloyd

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Location:
    Alpha Centauri A
    #11
    So like say I'm on a highway, so it's zoomed out quite a bit but still renders the main roads. If I wanted to zoom in to see the exit/extremities up close, it would be rendered instantly?
     
  12. itickings macrumors 6502a

    itickings

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    #12
    It would not be unreasonable to assume that. I'd file it under "work's for me".
     

Share This Page