Vector Illustration: Mac Pro or iMac?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by chrisleavens, Mar 10, 2009.

1. chrisleavens macrumors newbie

I realize there are other threads asking for advice in choosing between the iMac and the Mac Pro, but I have a more specific, performance-related quandary. I'm an illustrator by trade and I primarily create my work using Adobe Illustrator. My work has a tendency to get fairly complex (samples can be seen at my website) which often slows down my old dual 2Ghz PowerMac to the point of unusability, so I've decided to upgrade to a new rig.

I'm leaning heavily toward the new quad Mac Pro as the RAM limit isn't really an issue (AI isn't a really RAM-hungry app). I guess my question, for those of you who might understand the underlying processor tech. a little better than I do is, is the performance/price ratio in my favor here, or will I be over-doing things by getting a Mac Pro? I'm fairly certain that Illustrator doesn't really take advantage of more than one core, but I'd really like whatever computer I'm getting to be able to push through what I throw at it for at least four or five years (hopefully a couple more). Any thoughts/ideas/advice would be massively appreciated. Oh, and I'm not interested in going the hackintosh route, so that's not an option.

2. sigmadog macrumors 6502a

sigmadog

I'm not so sure about this. If you are creating some fairly intricate illustrations with gradient meshes and such, I think Illustrator would really improve with a lot of RAM.

By the way, nice illustrations.

3. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

Nice work. :)