Velocity X2 option key boot menu problem

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by chris tang, Jun 8, 2016.

  1. chris tang macrumors newbie

    chris tang

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    #1
    Hi, I bought a Velocity X2 and installed a Samsung SSD on it and plugged it into a 2010 mid Mac Pro on PCIE slot 2.

    After I finish clean install of Mac OS X 10.11, I found out that I can not enter the boot scene when I press "option" key when the Mac Pro start, It means that I can not select boot disk via the boot menu.

    Interestingly, I tried to remove the Velocity X2 card, then I have back to normal, I can enter the boot scene menu.

    So Whats the problem I am facing and how do I solve it?

    I would like to install the Mac OS on the SSD which install on the Velocity X2, and Win10 on other HDD that connect to other SATAIII plot on the Velocity X2, then I want to select to enter which OS I would want to use when I start my machine.

    ....looking for help...

    Thankss
     
  2. H2SO4 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    #2
    I think it’s a firmware problem with the Velocity cards. I had two Solos and one Duo. Same problem. I think you can use the ‘Start Up Disk’ pane to do it but it was a hassle.
    As much as Apricorn were very helpful, I returned it and bought the OWC offerings, (two single cards), and all has been well.
     
  3. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #3
    Interesting, I think that's the Tempo SSD bug, don't know that the Apricorn card has the same problem.

    Anyway, for the Tempo card. It's possible to fix it by multiple SMC / PRAM reset with only the card installed (with no SSD on it). But no guarantee, not sure if it works for the Apricorn card as well.
     
  4. H2SO4 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    #4
    For me, definitely Apricorn. Bought it from Expansys and sent it right back there.
    Here’s what they, (the OEM), said when I made a BootCamp enquiry;
    Solution:
    Move the bootable SSD to the motherboard and start the BCA. The BCA will partition the drive in preparation for the Windows installation. Once the partitioning is done BCA will reboot the computer from the Windows installation DVD When windows finishes installing, install the bootcamp support files into windows. Reboot as needed. When finished reboot into OSX. Enter the System preferences in OSX and make sure that OSX is picked as the startup disk. Shutdown, and move the ssd to the Solo. Boot up OSX with drive on Solo. Use System preferences to pick Windows as the startup disk.
     
  5. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #5
    The OP doesn't state whether he has a Solo or Duo x2. I think it may be the Solo x2. There is (was) a firmware fix that the Apricorn folks worked out for me in January of last year. That fix was incorporated into their production in 2015. See this thread starting with post No. 222. Not the same issue as the OPs, but I'd bet it's related.

    http://forums.macrumors.com/threads...r-new-apricorn-velocity-duo-x2.1721573/page-9

    Lou
     

Share This Page