velocity x2

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by freshbread, Nov 18, 2014.

  1. freshbread macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    #1
    Just put a velocity x2 in PCIe slot 2 (just above GPU) with a samsung sad 850 500gb...intended as scratch drive not boot drive. performance is 35 mb/s Write and 280 MB/s Read....Seems wrong...Otherwise performs normal.

    Any thoughts? Thank you.
     
  2. m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #2
    Have you had your SSD in one of the SATA-II bay's in your Mac to test the values there?
     
  3. freshbread thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    #3
    I did do that when first installed. They were in optical bay of mac pro 1,1 so sata on mother board. The SSD ran fine as I remember something in the 200's r/w.

    Now on Mac Pro 5,1 I realized after your post that I had the card in slot 4 and I believe on this mac I needed to change it to slot 2, just above gpu. So I did... Now I get Write at about 80/90 and Read at almost 300....

    So still seems off.

    Thanks.
     
  4. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #4
    Slot 2, 3, or 4 should make no difference on a 5,1 Mac. The Velocity Solo x2 needs a PCIe 2.0, 2 lane slot. 4 lanes (slots 3 and 4) or slot 2, 16 lanes, should make no difference. I'm running 2 Samsung SSDs with 2 Solo x2s, a series 840 and an 840EVO in slots 3 and 2 respectively. The EVO is a little faster, but only because the SSD itself is faster.

    Lou
     

    Attached Files:

  5. lowendlinux Contributor

    lowendlinux

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Location:
    North Country (way upstate NY)
    #5
    Looks like my Marvel which is Mac bootable does just a little better and I think they're about the same price.
     
  6. freshbread thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    #6
    Appreciate it. So it would seem that all other things being equal I need to trouble shoot my velocity or ssd....Not sure how to do either. Thanks.
     
  7. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #7
    The OP already owns the Apricorn Velocity, are you suggesting he sell it? With so many positive posts regarding the Velocity Solo, IMO, the OP should keep what he has.

    If you had a new Camry, and your neighbor said his new Accord was better, would you go out and sell the Camry?

    Lou
     
  8. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #8
    I would start by reformatting the SSD.

    Lou
     
  9. freshbread thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    #9
    thanks. It's what I'm thinking. Seem to recall a bunch of ssd stuff that I should research as well. Thanks. Appreciate it. How did you attach two drives? Is your second in the optical bay or just sitting on top of one another on card? And how are you powering second drive?
     
  10. mdelrossi macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    #10
    If the OP has access to a pc or windows, he can use the samsung formatter and get his sad back in shape. I had to do this onec and it made a world of difference on my 840 pro.
    YMMV
    mdr
     
  11. freshbread thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    #11
    Thanks. I'm on mac. but presume disk utility should do it.

    ----------

    Ugh. Reformatted. Same.

    80 write / 280 read
     
  12. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #12
    See post #4 above. Both are on Solo x2s. One is mounted in slot 2 and the other in slot 3.

    Lou
     
  13. freshbread thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    #13
    Oh. right. I thought you were using the second sata port. Thanks.
     
  14. lowendlinux Contributor

    lowendlinux

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Location:
    North Country (way upstate NY)
    #14
    No, just thread drift I do it on occasion.
     
  15. mdelrossi, Nov 24, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2014

    mdelrossi macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    #15
    @ freshbread,
    The samsung formatter SSD magician, I think that's what they call it, does more than just formatting.
    You could get the developer /preview of windows 10 download for free from microsoft and see it you can bootcamp it.
     
  16. freshbread thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    #16
    Thanks. Will try...ssd working fine in old machine. May return velocity.
     

Share This Page