Carrier Verizon doesn't recognize ipad air as verizon ipad

Discussion in 'iPad' started by theriotsmith, Nov 6, 2013.

  1. theriotsmith macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    #1
    I'm so confused. So I have a verizon ipad 3 that has been activated since I bought it. Bought the verizon ipad Air on launch day. I called Verizon to see if it was possible to cancel service on the old ipad and use the remaining data on the new one (since the data plan started the day after the launch). I know it's only $20, but if I save $20 and not have service on both, so much the better. The CSR asked for the MEID, put me on hold. Came back and asked for the IMEI, put me on hold. Came back and asked me where I bought the ipad, told her Best Buy. On hold again. She came back and told me that I had an AT&T ipad air, and they made that determination based on the MEID number. How bizarre is that? The carrier shown on the top left is Verizon, on the "about" screen, the network is listed as Verizon, and the Carrier is identified as "Verizon 15.5.1." She told me the only thing I could do was take it back to Best Buy and have them help me. UGHHHHH.
     
  2. rui no onna macrumors 601

    rui no onna

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    #2
  3. kendrabSLP macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    #3
    I've been on the phone for over an hour and I'm having the same issues. I have provided the IMEI/MEID number to multiple reps and they keep telling me that their system doesn't recognize the number. They also keep asking if it is an actual Verizon iPad. I know mistakes happen, but it says clearly on the box/settings that it is a Verizon iPad!!:mad::mad::mad::mad:
     
  4. herdnerfer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Location:
    Saint louis, MO
    #4
    I dropped an active Verizon SIM into my Tmobile iPad Air & it worked right away no muss, no fuss.
     
  5. Eitel macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    #5
    The new iPads use a SIM card, not the IMEI number of the device. When they ask give them the number on the verizon SIM card. That's all they need.
     
  6. kendrabSLP macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    #6
    I gave them the SIM number also. No one was able to help me. This is very frustrating
     
  7. M87 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    #7
    Why don't you just take the sim out of the 3 and put it in your air?
     
  8. legioxi macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    #8
    Either cut down the iPad3 SIM to fit the new one or go on their website and activate the device on your own with the new SIM card.
     
  9. screensaver400 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    #9
    There have been scattered reports of this issue with both Verizon and Sprint. Both of these carriers maintain databases of "approved" IMEIs---basically, of the devices that were sold as "for Verizon" or "for Sprint." It looks like a small number of devices aren't having their IMEIs added to the carrier's database properly.

    This will eventually get sorted out on the production/carrier end, and the currently-affected devices might start working. However, I'd suggest simply exchanging your model for another Verizon iPad Air. The one you have is, in effect, defective.

    As an aside, Verizon and Sprint really ought to get over themselves and just allow any iPad Air to activate on their network. If I bought an AT&T iPad, which has identical hardware to the Verizon iPad, why won't Verizon let me give them money to use it on their network?
     
  10. rui no onna macrumors 601

    rui no onna

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    #10
    So true. It's not like they're giving away their service for free. Does Apple give them a chunk of the sale proceeds for every Verizon/Sprint iPad sold? Somehow, I don't think so.
     
  11. screensaver400 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    #11
    And the funny thing is, the one carrier that literally does give away service for free (T-Mobile) *does* allow you to use any compatible tablet.
     
  12. kendrabSLP macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    #12
    Verizon reps keep telling me that the issue will be cleared by Monday. I think they had to manually add the IMEI/MEID to their system.
     
  13. duaneu macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    #13
    Verizon iPad 3 doesn't have a SIM card, at least not one that's removable.
     
  14. rui no onna macrumors 601

    rui no onna

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    #14
    It does (Micro SIM). It's the iPad 2 that doesn't have it (CDMA only).
     
  15. brentsg macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #15
    My Verizon iPad Air un-provisioned itself somehow. Suddenly after working fine it went to "no carrier". Initially it wanted me to setup the device just as I had when I first received it.

    After doing that, it connected to Verizon on 3G and told me I was out of data (but I had 3.5GB left).

    Their customer service walked me through the reprovision and it seems ok again.
     
  16. duaneu macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    #16
    I have a Verizon iPad 3. There's no SIM card slot.
     
  17. protoxx macrumors 6502

    protoxx

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013
    #17
    That's odd. There is a SIM card slot on my Verizion iPad 3. :eek:
     
  18. brentsg macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #18
    Hold it upright so you're looking at the back. Look at the right edge toward the top and you'll see a pinhole and a slot that pushes out.
     
  19. aggieastrosfan macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    #19
    Mine, too, funny coincidence. ;) Micro SIM. Had to take it out ( took forever!) to activate the nano in my Air.
     
  20. duaneu macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    #20
    Oh, it is there. I guess I never noticed it because the smart cover hinge hides it.
     

Share This Page