All iPads Verizon fios

Discussion in 'iPad' started by Truefan31, Jul 11, 2013.

  1. Truefan31 macrumors 68040

    Truefan31

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    #1
    Didn't know where to post this just figured with people having wifi iPads, anyone got experiences with fios? Good/bad?
     
  2. Cobra611 macrumors regular

    Cobra611

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012
    Location:
    Beacon, NY
    #2
    I have FiOS and use the app on my gen 2 iPad. It works well, most of the time. Many times, like last night, the program will skip back during a program, an unspecified amount of time and repeat that. It gets annoying when you watch the same scene 5 times. I usually just shut the app down and restart and that will take care of it most of the time. I just wish they would offer more channels to watch, especially my local NY channels.
     
  3. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
  4. Truefan31 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Truefan31

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    #4
    There's a fios app? Didn't know that. I was told there's a redbox online that verizon offers. I'm in va
     
  5. Irish Rose macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    #5
    I have Verizon FIOS home services which works very well with my iPhone 5 and iPad Mini. WiFi works great and I have never had any connection problems.... The App is called "Verizon FIOS Mobile", here is the App Store link to it; https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/verizon-fios-mobile/id406387206?mt=8


    Sent from my iPad Mini using Tapatalk 2
     
  6. Truefan31 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Truefan31

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    #6
    Cool yeah I'm getting the 75/35 Internet, hope I actually get those speeds
     
  7. Truefan31 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Truefan31

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    #7
    Any idea if the router they give is a n? It's prolly not a dual band like my belkin, maybe ill just use mine instead
     
  8. cledet macrumors regular

    cledet

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #8
    Yeah, they give you Wireless N routers now. Works great. I don't use it though. I have Time Capsule which acts as my network storage / router.
     
  9. Truefan31 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Truefan31

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    #9
    oh you can use your own router w/fios? I've read that youd have to use theirs, but that you can use your own as a 2nd router of sorts.
     
  10. DotCom2 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    #10
    Yes, they give you an N router. I recently signed up for the 50/35 speed and they installed their N router and then they daisy chained my own Netgear 3700 router to it. Everything works very well.
     
  11. Shrink macrumors G3

    Shrink

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    New England, USA
    #11
    I have the 75/35 plan, too. I get about 84 down, and 27 up. Very reliable.
     
  12. Truefan31 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Truefan31

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    #12
    Oh cool they'll do it for you then. Cuz I have a belkin dual band with 5 ghz frequency too I'd like to use
     
  13. cledet macrumors regular

    cledet

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #13
    Yeah, the device they give you is a modem + wireless router. You can turn off the wireless by logging into the router's web interface.
     
  14. Truefan31 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Truefan31

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    #14
    So I can do it (or the installer can?) and it won't affect my vod or guide info for the tv? Looking forward to the Internet speed, right now I have cable at about 20-25. Also multiroom DVr sounds cool
     
  15. DotCom2 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    #15
    In my case, I didn't have them turn off the wireless part of the Verizon FIOS supplied router.
    I just had them add my Netgear to it and now I have both routers that I can logon to. I pick which ever I am closet to (if I want). I have a rather long home with metal studs that sometimes cause conflicts so this is just perf for me. I had them leave the wireless part enabled because I also have a Samsung Smart TV that connects wirelessly to the fios router. In any event, I don't think it hurts to leave both routers wireless ability turned on. it sure works fine for me!:D
     
  16. Italianblend macrumors 68000

    Italianblend

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Location:
    Fatima
    #16
    Fios is good quality. The only thing I have trouble with on ipad is YouTube which can be frustrating.
     
  17. Truefan31 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Truefan31

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    #17
    I see that the ipad has a fios app specifically for the device. What can be done w/this app?

    Youtube trouble? Because of fios?
     
  18. Breaking Good macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012
    #18
    Typing this from my iPad 2 with Fios Internet access. No problems.
     
  19. Truefan31 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Truefan31

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    #19
    I can only imagine someone with the 300 down speeds. Crazy
     
  20. Italianblend macrumors 68000

    Italianblend

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Location:
    Fatima
    #20
    With the fios app, you can use your ipad as a remote control. You can also watch live tv on many stations from anywhere in the house on your ipad. You have to be connected to the fios router in your own home to be able to do so.

    I don't think the YouTube thing is related to fios. I just seems to load some videos slowly, even on chrome's ipad browser. Fios is pretty awesome and I would highly recommend it.
     
  21. Truefan31 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Truefan31

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    #21
    That's cool. Wish it was for the iPhone too. Yeah most people I've talked to say the Internet is fast. I think I'll daisy chain my router for extra coverage too.
     
  22. dictoresno macrumors 601

    dictoresno

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Location:
    NJ
    #22
    I had their 35/35 and usually saw 36 down and 39 up. I then paid the extra $10 for 50/35. Still only got like 45 down.

    And I never had an issue with the FIOS app. Used to stream live tv when I was in the "sitting room".
     
  23. Truefan31 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Truefan31

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    #23
    Nice. I can see myself doing some streaming as we'll. I was gonna do the 50 package but 76 is only 5 more.

    Was reading up on the new media server coming to verizon supposedly in September. Wondering if I should wait for that
     

Share This Page