Carrier Verizon iPad Air not working on ATT or T-Mobile

Discussion in 'iPad' started by afawcett, Dec 5, 2013.

  1. afawcett macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Location:
    San Diego
    #1
    I bought a 16 GB iPad Air from Target during their black Friday sale. I got the Verizon model because they were out of T-Mobile and ATT. I put in my T-Mobile sim card and my iPad will try to connect and then say "No Service". The same thing happens when I take my ATT sim card from my phone or from my old iPad. What gives? I thought these were unlocked.

    Any sugguestions?
     
  2. deeddawg, Dec 5, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2013

    deeddawg macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #2
    They are unlocked, so that won't be it.

    With AT&T, when I put a fresh SIM in my Verizon rMini I showed no service until I put it on wifi and went to settings->CellularData->ViewAccount to set up an account (actually transferred the account from my Verizon ipad3)

    With T-Mobile I had no issues, it connected up fine. I used a fresh SIM. Are you sure you have coverage and was the SIM fresh? I read here that T-Mobile blocks using a SIM in an ipad if had been set up in a phone (people abusing the $30/100min/5GB phone plan).

    Good luck
     
  3. fanchee, Dec 5, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2013

    fanchee macrumors 6502a

    fanchee

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    #3
    I'm using my Verizon iPad rMini with a t-mobile sim. Works great.

    I do recall turning wifi off to set it up, though.
     
  4. apunkrockmonk macrumors 6502a

    apunkrockmonk

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #4
    Yes I have a Verizon iPad rMini as well.

    Works fine with T-Mobile and AT&T.

    The T-Mobile SIM had to be activated with WiFi off but oddly enough the AT&T SIM needed WiFi on to activate it.
     
  5. TB07-NJ macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Location:
    US of A
    #5
    My VZW iPad is working fine on AT&T. I found:

    A) Had to power off/on with NEW FRESH AT&T SIM installed first so it would download proper cell data.

    B) Had to be on wi-fi to activate.
     
  6. afawcett thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Location:
    San Diego
    #6
    ... I can't believe all it took was a reset. I'm embarrassed at how frustrated I was getting. Also, I had to turn off the wifi once it recognized the T-Mobile SIM. Thanks everyone!
     
  7. deeddawg macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #7
    Yeah, gotta power off... Easy to forget the little details. No worries, glad you got it working! :)
     
  8. OCJeff macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    #8
    If it was locked it would say "Invalid SIM". So that wouldn't have been the issue (adding for future searches).
     
  9. jsd79 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2013
    #9
    Does anyone know if a TMO sim would work in a first gen VZW iPad mini running iOS 6? I got one for my wife, and after installing the sim, turning off wifi, powering down and back up, etc., it shows a 3G connection to TMO, but there's no "View Account" button in the Cellular settings and I can't get past the first screen on TMO's mobile broadband website. Any ideas?
     

Share This Page