Verizon iPhone 6 - Sprint

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by boxermansr, Oct 12, 2015.

  1. boxermansr macrumors 6502

    boxermansr

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    #1
    I'm sure there's a thread related to this on here somewhere, I tried to search, but so many results came up, that I just decided to be lazy.. shoot me.

    I have a brand new 16GB iPhone 6 that I was going to give to a family member who has Sprint. I've read conflicting information, as well as gotten conflicting information FROM Sprint, as far as to whether or not the device will work on their network.

    CS tells me that all I need is a SIM. Sprint's "chat" customer care says that Sprint will need to load the IMEI of the Verizon iPhone into their system (and they don't know to whom I need to speak with to get this done), and Sprint's "Twitter" support says that it will work zero problems, however the only downside is that I won't get access to their "Spark Network".

    Ultimately, I'm just trying to see if it is in fact possible or not, if it's not, no big deal, but if by the remote chance it is (Sprints BYOD page states that Verizon's iPhone 5c can be used on their network, so I'd assume the 6 can be too?), then it'd be nice to know before I waste time going to the store to get a SIM.

    I hate Sprint, but I'm trying to help a family member out and if the phone will work for them, awesome, if not I'll flip it and get myself some cash.

    If anyone can help me out, or direct me to where I can get more SOLID information, I'd appreciate it.

    Thanks.
     
  2. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #2
    Some things…

    1. If your family member already has a nano-SIM then they can just use that.
    2. You may not get all the bands Sprint uses, but you will get LTE.
    3. The reps are correct in that the IMEI needs to be entered.

    If your family member already has their SIM then you can make this easy all the way around. Login to the family member's Sprint account. Somewhere over on the right should be a link to activate a phone. Click on that. Select the previous phone. Enter the IMEI of the new phone and click the radio button that says to use the serial number of the current SIM. The site might give you some additional instructions such as when to swap the SIM and powering on/off the phones.

    Done. Essentially you have done an ESN swap. The old phone will now be inactive.

    If your family member does need a new SIM though go and get one from the Sprint store or have customer service send you a new one. Inside the Sprint account, activate a new line, enter the IMEI of the new phone and the serial number of the new SIM, then activate.

    P.S. The only reason I know anything at all about this is that about a month ago I got a replacement phone when I was still on Sprint. Apple dropped the ball on activation and I had to go get the damn thing activated myself. I hate dealing with Sprint customer service over the phone so I did this simple ESN swap on my laptop while sitting at Starbucks with my kids.
     
  3. boxermansr thread starter macrumors 6502

    boxermansr

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    #3
    They have an old crap phone, so no SIM available. I guess I'll just hit up the Sprint store tomorrow and see if the dummies can figure it out. I can't stand Sprint, and know based on your posts that you put up with them for ions (I put up with them for 8 years myself, and got tired of it back in 2011/2012).. Just tryin go help my MIL out since I have the phone and don't plan to use it, and if she can with Sprint, then that'd be cool.

    Thanks for the reply.
     
  4. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #4
    No problem!

    If your MIL wants to keep her current line, tell them you want to do an ESN swap for a phone with a SIM. Give them the IMEI of the iPhone. Since they will have the SIM they will have the serial. All they need to do is input both of those into the system.

    Or you can do it as I described above by yourself. However you want to do it. Just make sure they understand you want a SIM for the iPhone 6.
     
  5. boxermansr thread starter macrumors 6502

    boxermansr

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    #5
    Right, I need to go to the store regardless so I'll let them handle it. I've been swapping phones for years (with Sprint, Verizon, AT&T, pretty much every carrier I've been to, so got that down like a champ), just wanted to make sure it wasn't going to take an act of Congress to get this added/activated since it wasn't sold by Sprint, or whatever. I also asked Apple and they said it shouldn't be an issue, and that Spark may not be available, which I don't care about, their LTE sucks here too, so I doubt even IF (which we don't) had Spark it'd suck too.
     
  6. rigormortis macrumors 68000

    rigormortis

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #6
    the iPhone 6 that verizon uses is not be compatible with sprint. you need to check its meid with sprint to see if it will work. sprint refuses to activate the following iPhones
    a1549
    a1522

    these models will work on AT&T, t-mobile and verizon.

    they do not support spark channels, if you put in a sprint sim card in that phone it will work as a cellular ipad. voice calls will not go through on CDMA. i don't think voice calls will even work on VoLTE
    this is impossible and give up. when you dial out it will say 'THE CODE YOU HAVE USED IS INVALID"

    the iPhone 6 phones that sprint works on are :
    A1586
    A1524

    those phones will work on sprint , verizon, t-mobile and AT&T if it is unlocked
     
  7. boxermansr thread starter macrumors 6502

    boxermansr

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    #7
    Yeah this one's a1549, so guess it'll be a no go. Last rep I spoke with on the phone checked the IMEI and said it'd work (of course I'm sure if I called back 3 more times, I'd get 6 more answers), so..

    I'll be in the area of a Sprint store tomorrow, so I'll stop by for S&G's just to see what they say. o_O
     
  8. rigormortis macrumors 68000

    rigormortis

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #8

    if they make the mistake of activating it, i don't think you will be able to place a phone call.
    i already tried this. it made my iPhone a cellular ipad
     
  9. boxermansr thread starter macrumors 6502

    boxermansr

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    #9
    I'm sure they won't but least I can say I gave it the good ole try. What'd odd is that on Sprint's BYOD page it mentions being able to activate iPhone 6, 6+ 6s, 6s+ 5c (and the 5c says including Verizon) -- all the others make no mention, so maybe all they'll activate is a 5c.

    Wonder if the 5c I have they'll activate? Its A1532, but I'm sure it's an AT&T variant as I'm currently using it on T-Mobile.
     
  10. rigormortis macrumors 68000

    rigormortis

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #10
    i went to facebook and i sent sprint the meid off of my brand new iPhone 6s+ and they told me it wasn't a sprint device! i wrote them a nasty letter and sent it to their corporate headquarters!!!

    i have a feeling i have to trade that iPhone in for the unlocked sim free one to get sprint to recognize it, despite thats the model # that sprint doesn't like., because they like mine!

    is there a BYOD page that lets you actually enter serial numbers or meid numbers? i never saw one i heard you had to go to the store
     

Share This Page