verizon iphone jailbreak

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by nies, Feb 27, 2011.

  1. nies macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    #1
    ive jailbroken my ipad and ipod touch, but i cant get my verizon iphone to jailbreak using greenpois0n, i have no clue what i could be doing wrong... any know any tips or tricks??
     
  2. digitard macrumors 6502a

    digitard

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Location:
    Gilbert, AZ
    #3
    I've done mine 3x now (just updated versions of GP) without issue.

    All I can say is pretty much follow the steps on the screen. Are you getting any type of issue or is it just not going into DFU mode or what?
     
  3. nies thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    #4
    Everytime I try, it goes into dfu, says it's jailbreaking, then says failed
     
  4. digitard macrumors 6502a

    digitard

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Location:
    Gilbert, AZ
    #5
    You're using the most current version of the GP software from www.greenpois0n.com correct?

    It's been updated about 4x since the release of the Verizon iPhone.
     
  5. nies thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    #6
    Yes I've tried the newest one and the older ones like rc5 b4
     
  6. digitard macrumors 6502a

    digitard

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Location:
    Gilbert, AZ
    #7
    Oh, and you're on 4.2.6 right?

    Wont work with 4.2.5 which is what it shipped with.
     
  7. nies thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
  8. Weiser878 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    #9
    One thing that was throwing people off, is you have to keep holding the home (round) button until the phone totally reboots.
    After the screen fills with text, after you see the white apple, just keep on holding that home button...
     
  9. nies thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    #10
    ^i'll try that tonight, just hold the home button the whole time??
     
  10. Weiser878 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    #11
    Yep. I'm on AT&T, but did 2 iPhone 3Gs, an iPad, and an iPhone 4 about 3 weeks ago and kept having problems at first. Then I read and just kept holding that sucker down until I saw the unlock screen and it was good.
     
  11. nies thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    #12
    just tried holding the home button down the whole time like you guys said and still says failed, ive switched cords even and no luck.
     
  12. ulbador macrumors 68000

    ulbador

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    #13
    I've used different versions GP a few times on different computers, and I've had this problem on two different Macs.

    Basically, it goes through all the steps, and then says (Jailbreak Failed : ( ) If it's getting to the point where it says that message, the phone is definitely in DFU mode.

    To fix it, either use Bootcamp and do it in Windows, or reboot both the phone and the computer and try again. Once you have, hook up your phone, let iTunes finish backing up and syncing, then run greenpois0n.

    I think this happens when you try to run greenpois0n when the iPhone is still syncing. Once you've done it, something gets "stuck" until you reboot entirely.
     
  13. nies thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    #14
    Tried it on my pc rather than Mac and got it right away haha
     
  14. JasonR macrumors 6502a

    JasonR

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
  15. Mystikal macrumors 68020

    Mystikal

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    #16
    Yeah when I have problems I try different computers and that usually fixes it.
     

Share This Page