Carrier Verizon LTE is slower than 3G.

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by edhchoe, Oct 21, 2014.

  1. edhchoe macrumors 6502a

    edhchoe

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    #1
    Wtf!??
     

    Attached Files:

  2. edhchoe thread starter macrumors 6502a

    edhchoe

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
  3. noobinator macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
  4. jwhazel macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    #4
    Why does it say 3G in the status bar on both?
     
  5. noobinator macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #5
    Ran the test while on LTE then when he did the screenshot was on 3g.

    It's simple really.
     
  6. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #6
    Are you sure you aren't just on Sprint?

    That LTE speed looks like mine. :D
     
  7. rockitdog macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
  8. I7guy macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Location:
    What Exit?/Saguaro Country
    #8
    While I wish it could be better it is what it is:
     

    Attached Files:

  9. AutoUnion39 macrumors 601

    AutoUnion39

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #9
    You might be in an area with overloaded B13 and XLTE (B4) hasn't been deployed yet.
     
  10. sillywabbit macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
  11. terraphantm macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #11
    It happens sometimes in particularly crowded areas. If I can't get any throughout on LTE, I switch it off and can get reasonable speeds on HSPA+
     
  12. wxman2003 Suspended

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
  13. anaqvi786 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2013
    Location:
    At iOS planet
    #13
    By no means am I a fanboy of Sprint however I used to get 3-4mbps on LTE for VZW but now that's what I get on 3G for Sprint. Most of the time I am in an LTE area averaging at 25mbps.

    I do think that since I am on an MVNO (FreedomPop) and not the actual company there may be more bandwidth allotted to FP and with the PRL I have and that could be why my 3G speeds are decent.

    Once Spark goes live in our area I will expect really fast speeds... Yay.

    One thing tho. Sprint's call quality is terrible in areas with low signal on my dad's phone. I use VoIP so I don't need to worry.
     
  14. MatthewStorm macrumors 6502a

    MatthewStorm

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Location:
    NYC
    #14
    How do I change carrier bands on my 6+? Thnx.
     
  15. miamialley macrumors 68030

    miamialley

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #15
    I've never cared about Verizon LTE having a larger coverage area because in my experience their LTE is slower than ATT 4G often.
     
  16. MBHockey macrumors 68040

    MBHockey

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #16
    and T-mobile is faster than both, at least in NYC. Just check the Sensorly speed test database for all three carriers in NYC.
     
  17. ag29 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    #17
    This could be a good thing. Verizon is pretty expensive anyway, so it means you could go to a cheaper carrier like T-mobile and get better speeds.

    If Verizon was bad in my area, I would dump then in a heartbeat lol.
     
  18. HolyGrail macrumors 6502

    HolyGrail

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    #18
    With verizon only averaged around 5 to 10mbs of LTE. With Tmobile i'm always in the highs 30s 40s. I rarely travel so its a win win for me.

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page