Verizon MiFi SIM to iPad?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by JockItch43, Mar 16, 2012.

  1. JockItch43 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    #1
    Quick question for those in the know... I have a 4g Verizon MiFi that my work pays for. If I cut the SIM down to micoSIM, can I use it in my Verizon 4G iPad? Are there any other steps I may have to take to make this work (APN settings, etc)?

    Thanks!
     
  2. bidwalj macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    #2
    I did the exact same thing. Used a sim cutter to cut the sim, swapped out the sims and I was good to go. Lte shows up, data works and the hotspot feature.
     
  3. JockItch43 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    #3

    Excellent!

    My work buddy had his iPad delivered to work (mine is being delivered at home) and we briefly tried this out on his iPad. It only recognized a Verizon 3g network, even though when the same SIM is in his MiFi he gets great 4G reception. Even with the 3G network showing 4 bars on his iPad, the cellular data was not working. Safari prompted to activate the service, and when you select that option it tells you that the SIM is already active and to call Verizon.

    Does the 4G SIM from the MiFi only provide LTE service since their 3g service is CDMA?
     
  4. bidwalj macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    #4
    I get lte. You have to go to settings, reset, subscriber services and then hit reprovision account. It will stay on lte then.

    ----------

    Restart it after those steps
     
  5. pocky macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Location:
    San Gabriel Valley
    #5
    So for example, if I plan to keep my Verizon 4G Mifi and switch back n' forth between the iPad & Mifi, would I need to always reprovision account on the iPad?
     
  6. Milfin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    #6

    What does that actually mean? Is it something that is pretty easy? I have two ipads in front of me and trying to decide which one to take back. I have a samsung jet pack that I pay data service but it's still on contract. I was hoping to swap out my sim card (cutting it down) and put in the new Ipad.

    Thanks for your patience
     
  7. JockItch43 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    #7

    Thanks, I saw the post from the other thread and it worked like a charm.


    http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=14535031&postcount=4
     

Share This Page