Verizon new iPad signal issues

Discussion in 'iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by djmodifyd, Mar 26, 2012.

  1. djmodifyd macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    #1
    I am in a solid 3G/LTE area, and my new iPad will only show at most 4 bars of signal. Usually between 2 and 3 bars. I have seen a full 5 bars once when I was outside. Just sitting in my house it will constantly go from one to 4 bars back and fourth.

    I went too the genius bar and they said its getting signal so it's working fine.

    I've tried a full restore, with no luck

    Any tips?
     
  2. DctrJ macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    #2
    Having the same problem with mine on AT&T. At times, my iPad won't connect but my iPhone 4 connects with no problem. It never shows as many bars as my iphone. A few people have discussed this on the apple forums. I hate to return mine because everything else is perfect.
     
  3. djmodifyd thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    #3
    Well, as a test I put the AT&T Sim card from my iPhone into my iPad and I got full bars of 4G, so maybe I just have bad Verizon service in my area even though the online map shows it would be good coverage?

    Maybe I'll try to swing by a Verizon store and compare the signal on my iPad to the iPads on display there?
     
  4. amberashby macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    #4
    I have same issue

    My iPad 2 AT&T in the same exact location got 3 bars and decent throughput. My new iPad gets 1 bar and crappy or nonexistant throughput. Hope this is something they can fix with an update, but I'm starting to think it may be a hardware issue.

    Works fine when the signal is super strong.
     
  5. djmodifyd thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    #5
    Well, I took mine to the apple store again. The genius looked at it and agreed with me and swapped it out.

    This one seems a little better but not much. I'll give it some time
     
  6. iCrosoft macrumors regular

    iCrosoft

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

Share This Page