Verizon Number Not Eligible for Porting to AT&T

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by schmoopy.design, Jul 1, 2008.

  1. schmoopy.design macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Location:
    Champaign, IL
    #1
    I have searched the forums but have not found an exact answer to my question. I currently have Verizon and plan on switching over to AT&T in August. I used the port eligibility function on the AT&T website and it tells me my number is not eligible to be ported.

    I set up my Verizon in San Diego, CA and now live in Champaign, IL. That being said my cell phone number is a San Diego area code. I cannot port my number to an area that it won't be primarily used in apparently. I found a thread about a work around this when using itunes but don't know how to work around this with in store activation.

    For the record it tells me my number is eligible if I use the San Diego zip code and my number but not the Champaign zip code and my number.

    Any suggestions on how to get my number ported? I am not willing to change my cell phone number.
     
  2. gandalf18 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    #2
    Visit the AT&T store when you decide to switch over. They'll help make sure that the number ports over. Verizon is required to release the number for porting.
     
  3. skubish macrumors 68030

    skubish

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Michigan
    #3
    Strange. I thought you could pick any area code for your cell number.
     
  4. FarSeide macrumors 6502a

    FarSeide

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Earth Lane
    #4
    This isn't always the case. I remember when I tried to get a NorCal # living down here SoCal, local COR had to make some adjustments so that I could qualify for the different market area code and prefix.

    Its strange....

    to OP, I would definitely walk into your AT&T store and have them port it for you.
     
  5. citron230 macrumors 6502a

    citron230

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #5
    Doesn't the phone # have to remain in the same area code?
     
  6. gandalf18 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    #6
    I've had several friends who have ported in different area codes without problems, so that shouldn't be a limitation.
     
  7. Mo0st macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    #7
    really!, area code 123 here i come!!! better not be taken =]....anyone joining!
     
  8. MSD401 macrumors 6502

    MSD401

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Location:
    Ogden, UT
    #8
    I think when porting first started I remember reading somewhere that some numbers couldn't be ported b/c they are owned by the phone company?
    or Im crazy... regardless ... more info than you would ever want here...

    http://www.fcc.gov/cgb/NumberPortability/
     

Share This Page