Verizon & T-Mobile iPhone 6S the Same model?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Coleman2010, Sep 12, 2015.

  1. Coleman2010 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Location:
    NYC
    #1
    http://www.apple.com/iphone/LTE/

    On the LTE page it shows the same model numbers for the 6S and 6S Plus then lists U.S. networks as Sprint, T-Mobile and Verizon.

    Am I reading this correct? It's the same model?

    iPhone 6s
    Model A1638 (GSM)
    Model A1638 (CDMA)

    iPhone 6s Plus
    Model A1687 (GSM)
    Model A1687 (CDMA)
    United States
    • Sprint
    • T-Mobile
    • Verizon
     
  2. gabo864 macrumors 6502a

    gabo864

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012
    #2
    This is why im so confused about because an apple rep told me I could use the t-mobile version with verizon, but when I pre-ordered it, it says "T-mobile (GSM)" verizon is CDMA so how could it work with VRZ???
     
  3. Coleman2010 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Location:
    NYC
    #3
    Last years model had both radios activated. I'd assume this year would be the same considering the same model numbers.
     
  4. Zauberer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    #4
    I think it just means that with Verizon, you are defaulted to using CDMA and in TMobile you are defaulted to using GSM. That's how I interpret that information anyway. Someone more qualified can feel free to correct me.
     
  5. Dmaynard83 macrumors 6502a

    Dmaynard83

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    #5
    I'm on Verizon and had issues buying a phone outright with my UDP. so I ended up buying the t mobile GSM version but I'm pretty sure I can just throw my nano sim in there.

    My brother in law is using my nano sim in the Verizon version of the 6 i bought last year with no issues.
     
  6. Coleman2010 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Location:
    NYC
    #6
    When you add the T-Mobile version to the cart it shows Part number: MKV12LL/A. Can someone post the Verizon part number to see if it's the same?
     
  7. ansabakhan macrumors 65816

    ansabakhan

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    #7
    Yes I would like to know this too, what is the Verizon part numbers ?
     
  8. terraphantm macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #8
    It won't be the same part number, but that doesn't mean the phones won't be the same
     
  9. Coleman2010 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Location:
    NYC
    #9
    If they are selling the same models and they can be activated on either network it could be the same part number.
     
  10. terraphantm macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #10
    It won't be the same part number. Every carrier, storage capacity, and color get their own part number
     
  11. zzoomp09 macrumors 6502

    zzoomp09

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Location:
    nordern nu joizee
    #11
    I bought a TMo iPhone6 last year, used it for 2 months with TMo, moved to VZW with the same phone, no issues at all. In fact, I'm still switching sims every now and then with both carriers.

    I think Verizon started to activate the iPhones through the LTE sims with the 6/6+, the 5S were still using CDMA as their way of activating them.
     
  12. karan.k macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2013
    #12
    So will a T-Mobile phone function fully on a Verizon sim, inducing LTE ? or maybe its just safe to buy a Verizon iPhone, because I;m sure Verizon iPhones functions fully on the T-mobile network
     
  13. Broadus macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    #13
    Does the
    But you cannot preorder a Verizon 6s via the online Apple Store unless you have a Verizon account and set up a new Verizon account, right?
     
  14. terraphantm macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #15
  15. se1000 macrumors 6502

    se1000

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Location:
    LA, CA
    #16
    Yeah I'm reading that now, seems there is a lot of confusion and spec sheets got updated after pre-orders went out.
     
  16. Joe1602 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    #17
    That article is now obsolete. The spec sheet now shows the AT&T version supporting CDMA. So yes, the sprint, tmo and Verizon ones are the same. The att ones add lte band 30 which doesn't matter right now, but may make for faster att lte connections in the future.
     
  17. karan.k macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2013
    #18
    Is there any other article where you read about the AT&T iPhone 6s having CDMA radios, if so, Yes ! it is the best iPhone to have, and if you buy the AT&T iPhone at full price from the apple store, it will be unlocked.
     
  18. terraphantm macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #19
    Apple's own site says it has CDMA radios now: http://www.apple.com/iphone-6s/specs/
     
  19. karan.k macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2013
    #20
    I don't get it, a day back the Model A1633* did not reflect the some of the CDMA bands of the A1688. I'm sure they have changed it very recently.

    Is it confirmed the AT&T iPhone 6s is unlocked if bought at full price from the apple store ?
     
  20. terraphantm macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #21
    That has been the case every other year. If for some reason it doesn't end up being unlocked, it's pretty easy to get it unlocked.
     
  21. Joe1602 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    #22
    Apple doesn't confirm that anything is unlocked except their own monthly installment financing plan with AppleCare+.
     
  22. pudcraft macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    #23
    I have done this two times. They both work on both networks. It's the same damned phone, just noted differently to not confuse average customer. However, their notation confuses the f@#$ out of people anyways.
     

Share This Page