Verizon USB720 modem - questions

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by ea21, Mar 31, 2008.

  1. ea21 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    #1
    Should this modem work well the MBA? Verizon said the modem should have everything required to connect it to the MBA (USB extension cable). Any suggestions for the person installing it would be appreciated.
     
  2. johndoe588 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Location:
    Upstate New York
    #2
    This may help. I do NOT have a MBA, but rather a regular MacBook with Tiger, and have been using the 720 for several months now with no problems at all. No configuring was needed, plugged it in and it worked. MBA should work just as well. It came with an extension cable which works fine.

    John B.
     
  3. ExcelonGT macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    #3
    I have this same model Verizon EvDO device. Works perfect. In fact, I was shocked how easy it was. This is my first Mac, and coming from the Windows word, I'm used to carrying around the Verizon Access Manager software and USB drivers for the EVDO card that I'm carrying. non of the is required in Leopard and the MBA! Just connect the USB720 to the extension cable and connect that to the USB port. it detects the card, its config, and auto connects to Verizon with full Rev A speeds!! pretty sweet... However, I have not yet tried to connect to the USB720 to a hub. Im not sure if that will work
     
  4. HotAir macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood CA USA
    #4
    I use the exact same 720 with the included usb extension and it works very well. I installed the Verizon software also and sign-on using that program. I didn't like the two-foot cable at first---I was dumb about it and wanted just a simple (3 inch long) usb adapter that would clear the MBA side door. But my son said to me.... "Why have something so rigid sticking out the side when a cable is flexible and you can lie it next to the MBA or whatever." Plus the cable is included with the 720 which also includes a "Y" so that a USB is still available while the 720 is attached to the MBA. Haven't tried connecting any USB devices to that extension yet. My demands are simple.
     
  5. toomuchmac macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Location:
    Colorado
    #5
    As far as the Verizon card working with OS X it should be no problem. They even say now with Leopard that you don't need VZ Access Manager, but I still installed and use it on my MBA.

    I have the UM150 modem and it works fine. I've had speeds up to almost 1800kbps down and 600kbps up. Even did fine on video iChat and screen sharing. In addition, this modem will connect into the USB port on the MBA without the use of an extension cable. You have to orient it at 90 degrees, though, so that the modem is sticking straight up. On a hard surface it has about 2mm of clearance.

    I have also used this modem connected to a bus powered hub while connected to a USB printer and it has worked fine.
     
  6. JCT macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    #6
    I have used the Verizon 727 USB with my MBA via a tiny Logitech unpowered hub and it works great.

    I actually prefer these small hubs with most of my laptops -- lost one of my Powerbook USB ports when a kid smashed into my USB key sticking out of my machine in a crowded airport waiting area.

    JT
     
  7. deja2412 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    #7
    Hello~~ i have the 720 that i use on my newer alienware,
    now my MBA arrived a few hours ago... it wants the 727 lol

    so after the spa i will go see what can be done,

    i dont know how to place a new ??? but
    my MBA is my first apple experience i have no idea what to do. i am charging it.and trying to find someone to help me.
    my instructions say to go on line but i just found this place and am chillin.
    do i add AOL? I NEED SUN AND VM JAVA AND
    what about ie is it on there or what?
    whats leopard and os?? :confused::confused::confused:

    i will connect via verizone card
    and i want a wireless net work for at home
    i see conflifting stories whether one can be set up using the v card.
    what about wifi
    everywhere i go a notice alerts that a connection is available. how do i get to use these
    see told u i was stupid. good night :D
    :apple: :apple: :apple:
     
  8. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #8
    I'm confused… Are you asking how to set up the modem or how to set up your computer?
     
  9. deja2412 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    #9
    Lol Me Too
    I Figured Out How To Start A Thread So My Question Is
    Updated Under Apple Air
    Ty For Responding
     

Share This Page