Verizon vs ATT iPhone 6s/6s+ LTE Bands Differences

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Mikebuzzsaw, Sep 10, 2015.

  1. Mikebuzzsaw macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #1
    I'm currently with ATT and was planning on purchasing a Verizon iPhone 6s+ because it's 100% unlocked out of the box and can be used with ATT service. I've done this with 5 of my family's iPhone 5 and iPhone 6. Reason being is Verizon iPhone usually have better resale value and who knows, we might jump on the Verizon bandwagon in the future.


    After further research on the iPhone 6S supported cellular bands, it seems like Apple added LTE 30 to the ATT version of phone.


    ATT GSM
    • LTE (Bands 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 12, 13, 17, 18, 19, 20, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30)
    • TD-LTE (Bands 38, 39, 40, 41)
    • TD-SCDMA 1900 (F), 2000 (A)
    • UMTS/HSPA+/DC-HSDPA (850, 900, 1700/2100, 1900, 2100 MHz)
    • GSM/EDGE (850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz)

    VERIZON/SPRINT
    • LTE (Bands 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 12, 13, 17, 18, 19, 20, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29)
    • TD-LTE (Bands 38, 39, 40, 41)
    • TD-SCDMA 1900 (F), 2000 (A)
    • CDMA EV-DO Rev. A (800, 1700/2100, 1900, 2100 MHz)
    • UMTS/HSPA+/DC-HSDPA (850, 900, 1700/2100, 1900, 2100 MHz)
    • GSM/EDGE (850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz)
    http://www.imore.com/iphone-6s-sprint-and-verizon-will-be-different-model





    Is the missing LTE 30 Band a big deal??



     
  2. ajpuciat macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2015
  3. flur macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012
    #3
    Band 30 is for ATT's next gen network that isn't built yet. You'll be fine with the VZ phone on ATT.
     
  4. atomic50 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    #4
    The AT&T model should support CDMA (FCC documents confirms) if it's like the 6 before too.

    Actually. it's already being deployed and coverage will ramp up quickly.
     
  5. DJ.Nickk macrumors regular

    DJ.Nickk

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    Location:
    Miami,FL
  6. Mikebuzzsaw thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #6
    Not true.

    However, in practice, that did not amount to much since not many non-Verizon devices were made with radios that supported Verizon's band class in the 700 MHz band and other Verizon spectrum bands.

    Phone must have CDMA band to support Verizon and all ATT iPhones do not have CDMA bands.
     
  7. atomic50 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    #7
    It should work for all 6/S/Plus. My AT&T 6 plus has CDMA radios and can be activated on Verizon even though Apple says otherwise.
     
  8. flur macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012
    #8
    Except the ATT 6s and 6s Plus aren't being made with the CDMA radio. They had the CDMA radio in the 6 and don't in the 6s.
     
  9. milaround macrumors member

    milaround

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    #9
    No... The whole point he was trying to make with his link, was that the AT&T 6 was listed as not having CDMA, when it in fact did.

    Model A1549 (GSM)* (AT&T)
    Model A1522 (GSM)*

    UMTS/HSPA+/DC-HSDPA (850, 900, 1700/2100, 1900, 2100 MHz)
    GSM/EDGE (850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz)
    LTE (Bands 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 13, 17, 18, 19, 20, 25, 26, 28, 29)

    Model A1549 (CDMA)* (Verizon)
    Model A1522 (CDMA)*

    CDMA EV-DO Rev. A and Rev. B (800, 1700/2100, 1900, 2100 MHz)
    UMTS/HSPA+/DC-HSDPA (850, 900, 1700/2100, 1900, 2100 MHz)
    GSM/EDGE (850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz)
    LTE (Bands 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 13, 17, 18, 19, 20, 25, 26, 28, 29)

    [source]

    As you can see, the AT&T iPhone 6 was officially listed as not having CDMA capability. However, it actually did. So now, we're in the same situation; We're seeing the iPhone 6s listed as not having CDMA capability, and because of FCC documents showing model A1633 as having CDMA capabilities combined with the historical precedence of the iPhone 6 as just mentioned, there is reason to think that the AT&T A1633 iPhone 6s may actually be made with a CDMA radio.
     
  10. Mikebuzzsaw thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #10
    This is something I'm completely unaware of.

    So you are telling me, my ATT iPhone 6 (unlocked by ATT) which I own right now, supports CDMA? I can bring it to Verizon and they can activate it with no issues?
     
  11. milaround macrumors member

    milaround

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    #11
    According to general consensus, yes. Even though Apple lists the models to be either GSM or CDMA only, your originally AT&T iPhone 6 will work on either network. There are quite of number of threads in the forums about this this topic. Here's one from January for example.
     
  12. codeman7 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    #12
    Apple now lists models A1633/A1634 as supporting CDMA EV-DO Rev. A (800, 1700/2100, 1900, 2100 MHz), indicating that the only difference between A1633/A1634 and A1688/A1687 to be LTE band 30. Screen Shot 2015-09-12 at 4.47.43 PM.png
     
  13. Cuniac macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Location:
    Phoenix
    #13
    When I reserved my iPhone this morning it kind of surprised me that it said CDMA on it. These are being advertised as unlocked switch carrier when ever iPhone when it does not seem to be that way. the CMDA iPhone clearly covers CDMA and 1 more GSM band than the other. But the CDMA iPhone does not have LTE band 30. What does it all mean?!?
     
  14. PLin macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    #14
    Nice find. I was debating whether to get the AT&T or T-Mobile version and settled for AT&T. I guess that as the right choice. Hopefully the AT&T model is whitelisted on Verizon's network.
     
  15. CodeSpyder macrumors 6502a

    CodeSpyder

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #15
    The AT&T 6s / Plus phones definitely support CDMA. See here. http://www.apple.com/iphone-6s/specs/
     
  16. KPOM macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #16
    Yes. I had a "T-Mobile" iPhone 6 and it works fine, even on CDMA, if you put a Verizon SIM in it.
     
  17. KPOM macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #17
    Agreed. A lot of the carriers (e.g. US Cellular, C-Spire) who are selling the "AT&T" model have legacy CDMA 3G and voice networks.
     
  18. KPOM macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #18
    I believe Verizon is relaxing their policies on whitelisted devices because of the voluntary carrier agreement on unlocking that took effect this February.
     
  19. oregondean macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    #19
    The only difference is AT&T's WCS LTE band 30 ... Apple has updated their specs to show that the CDMA bands are indeed on the ATT "GSM" model 6s:A1633 6s+:A1634. http://www.apple.com/iphone-6s/specs/
     
  20. KPOM macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #20
    Not only that, I confirmed yesterday with a Verizon SIM card that the AT&T model works with Verizon. I even disabled LTE just to confirm it would place a call on CDMA and access 3G CDMA data. It works. That said, good luck getting Verizon to whitelist a T-Mobile or AT&T iPhone 6.
     
  21. KPOM macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #21
    If they are, the store where my parents tried to activate a T-Mobile iPhone 6S didn't get the memo. This was after 2 Sprint stores told them to take a hike. They were finally able to exchange the iPhone 6S for a Verizon version at the mall, though the Verizon store still had an issue getting them set up with a bring your own device. :mad:

    It's so much easier with legacy GSM carriers like AT&T. On the plus side, at least all Verizon phones are unlocked.

    I know I'm replying to myself, but my earlier post was before the hassle my parents had today. :)
     
  22. rigormortis macrumors 68000

    rigormortis

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #22
    verizon wants your business so they decided all iPhone 6, 6+ and nexus 6 phones are verizon iPhones, they whitelisted every single one. the only thing stopping you is if you handset is locked

    gazelle, next worth, walmart, is it worth more, etc didn't get this memo and are treating unlocked phones not as good as verizon iPhones and i am really mad about it. they reduce your low payment by another 125 if you tell them its an unlocked phone versus a verizon one


    i think phone companies like sprint and verizon agree to only activate phones that were sold to them during the first 90 days , and i think once January comes around, we will be okay

    we might have to wait 90 days for a sim free one --- or we might have to wait 90 days for them to activate ours. its a coin toss. good luck
     

Share This Page