Carrier Verizon Wi-Fi Calling & Messaging!

Discussion in 'iOS 9' started by kamran1998, Oct 21, 2015.

  1. kamran1998 macrumors member

    kamran1998

    Joined:
    May 14, 2014
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    #1
    You can now place/receive calls & SMS using Verizon's updated Message+ App!
     
  2. Subwaymac macrumors regular

    Subwaymac

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Location:
    Illinois
    #2
    Last week that came out. You can do it on a cellular ipad
     
  3. iamMacPerson macrumors 68030

    iamMacPerson

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Location:
    AZ/10.0.1.1
    #3
    Great, now when is this going to be integrated into the dedicated phone app Verizon?
     
  4. kamran1998 thread starter macrumors member

    kamran1998

    Joined:
    May 14, 2014
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    #4
    Yea, it would be better if they integrated it with the phone app but at least we have the ability to use the app abroad to make calls.
     
  5. XTheLancerX macrumors 68000

    XTheLancerX

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Location:
    NY, USA
    #5
    Nice. Too bad you have to use that garbage app. I don't know if a lot has changed, but I used to use that so I could text with my iPad using my phone number when I had a galaxy s4, and it was awful. I don't want to use your app Verizon, I want to just use my phone. Way too much of hassle thinking, "Oh, I have bad service, I probably should use this app" rather than just sending a message like usual.

    Yeah, I know, I'm being a pessimist. At least we have the ability to accomplish this over wifi, but still. I really don't want to have to think about what I have to use. How do notifications work with this? Do you now get two notifications for every single text or call you get?
     
  6. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #6
    Not sure why they can't just roll out WiFi calling like all the other major carriers and competitors have.
     
  7. kamran1998 thread starter macrumors member

    kamran1998

    Joined:
    May 14, 2014
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    #7
    I disabled notifications as I was receiving double notifications for SMS & calls. I plan on using the App when I go abroad or if Wi-Fi is available but cellular isn't. I would still like to see native Wi-Fi calling support.
     
  8. XTheLancerX macrumors 68000

    XTheLancerX

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Location:
    NY, USA
    #8
    Greediness, laziness, arrogance. Verizon described in three words.
     
  9. adamhenry macrumors 65816

    adamhenry

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2015
    Location:
    On the Beach
    #9
    When I was prompted to do the carrier update after the IOS update today, I thought that we might be getting wifi calling finally. I was wrong of course. They are running out of time to make their target of end of year but their target of middle of 2015 didn't mean much.
     
  10. XTheLancerX macrumors 68000

    XTheLancerX

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Location:
    NY, USA
    #10
    I suspected the same... Maybe groundwork for wifi calling? :( probably not.
     
  11. kamran1998 thread starter macrumors member

    kamran1998

    Joined:
    May 14, 2014
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    #11
    I didn't even receive the carrier update, just updated my iPhone to iOS 9.1
     
  12. XTheLancerX macrumors 68000

    XTheLancerX

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Location:
    NY, USA
    #12
    It probably was bundled with 9.1. I
    dont know why some got it separate and why others didn't, but I don't think you'd just "not get" a carrier update.

    I got the carrier update thing as soon as I went into the software update screen by the way. It has to do with 9.1.
     
  13. adamhenry macrumors 65816

    adamhenry

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2015
    Location:
    On the Beach
    #13
    The new level is 22.1.
     
  14. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #14
    Sadly seems like this won't activate on iPhone 5 as it seems to require VoLTE support. Thought it would work when just WiFi is available but it didn't seem like it allowed for that on iPhone 5 at least.
     
  15. Statusnone88 macrumors 65816

    Statusnone88

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
    #15
    Damn. This is such a half-assed attempted at releasing WiFi calling as soon as possible to say they "have" it.

    I would NEVER use WiFi calling if I had to jump into an app. With AT&T, my WiFi calling switch over is flawless. And it sounds phenomenal. Oh, and it hands it back over to the tower perfectly when I leave WiFi coverage.

    Verizon people, I don't mean to sound like a used car salesman, but I think you should look into AT&T. I know some people can't, due to coverage limitations or they have phones through work, but AT&T is offering some big bucks if you port your number and get a new phone on AT&T Next. If you're an new/existing U-verse or DIRECTV customer? They'll give you up to $500 per line.

    Just some food for thought.
     
  16. I7guy macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Location:
    Sante Fe, Azuza, Cucamonga
    #16
    Thanks for the suggestion to move over to AT&T. If I wanted to do that I know where they are and how to contact them. Frankly i think its great I can make wifi calls on my iPad. My life is not so tattered that I can't jump into an app to make a call when it benefits me.
     
  17. reptarwilleatu macrumors regular

    reptarwilleatu

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    #17
    but why?
     
  18. I7guy macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Location:
    Sante Fe, Azuza, Cucamonga
    #18
    In the oft chance someone may know the answer to this (although in a sense this is probably a more generic question)

    In this notifications settings for this app, i turned on sounds, and in testing when I call the phone get a quick vibrate. Is there any way to alter the default sound even if it alters the default sound for other apps? Or am I stuck with a quick vibrate?
     
  19. JayBuchanan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    #19
    I can't enable "calls" in the setting menu. iPhone 6s+ on iOS 9.1. Cellular set to LTE w/ data and voice. Can anyone help?
     
  20. I7guy macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Location:
    Sante Fe, Azuza, Cucamonga
    #20
    Its possible your plan doesn't support it. I'm would call Verizon.
     
  21. briankeith513 macrumors 6502a

    briankeith513

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #21
    Same issue here
     
  22. campyguy macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Location:
    Portland / Seattle
    #22
    I'm on the same page as most of the iTS reviewers - this app, for me, is a useless, buggy POS for wifi calling. I've not been able to hold a call for more than 10 seconds or so and it drops the call - when it connects. TMing seems to work fine. Deleted. :mad:

    FWIW, Skype/Skype for Business and Facetime work perfectly over the same network.
     
  23. briankeith513 macrumors 6502a

    briankeith513

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #23
    There was an update to the app today, and calling works fine now.
     
  24. tops2 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2014
    #24
    I tried the app yesterday with a coworker and it works fine. We tried with my iphone connected to wifi only (enabling airplane mode and enabling wifi) and his call went through to my phone. Pretty nice that at least now we have an option for wifi calling. Can't wait for the eventual integration of wifi calling into iOS so we don't need a separate app.
     
  25. campyguy macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Location:
    Portland / Seattle
    #25
    Of course an update comes out the day I delete the app. After the reinstall and setup, one call dropped @ 17s, the second dropped @ 13s, two more wouldn't even connect. I also tried the airplane mode workaround, no connections. Redeleted.
     

Share This Page