Version 2 and TZones on 1rst Gen iPhone

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by carfac, Jul 19, 2008.

  1. carfac macrumors 65816

    carfac

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    #1
    There was someone who upgraded his first gen iPhone to 2.0 with the pwnage, all went well it seems, but he could not get TZones working from TMobile. I was wondering if anyone can confirm this... or dispute this.

    Anyone got TZones working on 2.0????
     
  2. WMuntean macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    #2
    You might be referring to me in your post, but just to go ahead and add +1 on NOT being able to use T-zones (web) with 2.0. However there is hope, I found a tutorial that has the proxy files and plist files, all one would have to do (in theory) is replace the original ones with these. Unfortunately, I dont have SHH access on this phone yet, nor wireless at this location.
     
  3. Eddyisgreat macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #3
    no tzones, but am using the 19.99 total internet plan
     
  4. WMuntean macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
  5. Eddyisgreat macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #5
    yup. right out of the (hack) box. exchange, app store, safari, etc.
     
  6. carfac thread starter macrumors 65816

    carfac

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    #6
    Did you have TZones working BEFORE you upgraded to 2.0?

    I did that tutorial back in version 1.02 or so, I think.
     
  7. WMuntean macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    #7
    Yup everything was working fine. Except youtube, which is, I believe, attributed to a port issue with the t-zones plan.
     
  8. carfac thread starter macrumors 65816

    carfac

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    #8
    OK, I just upgraded to 2.0. Looks like no TZones.

    Where did you find your tutorial? I have ssh here, and can give that a shot.
     
  9. carfac thread starter macrumors 65816

    carfac

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    #9
    Posted too quick!

    I restored to my old phone in iTunes- and TZONES IS WORKING. FOR SURE.

    Got Safari to work, got e-mail from my POP server.

    Apps store does not seem to work, though. Do I have to be on WiFi for that????
     
  10. javabear90 macrumors 6502a

    javabear90

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #10
    So you are sure it is safe? Did you reinstall the hack (if so for what version)in installer? Or did it just work?
    Thanks,
    -Ted
     
  11. WMuntean macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    #11
    Tzones is working?

    And you restored through iTunes?
     
  12. WMuntean macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    #12
    I just restored to my old iPhone settings (still pwned 2.0), and now E-mail works, but no safari - Booo
     
  13. ljump12 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Location:
    philadelphia
    #13
    I'd like to second that... did the same thing.. running the new PWNED 2.0... Mail still works after i "restored" my iphone settings... but safari is giving me the 502 error or whatever the numbers are...

    If anyone knows how to fix, Please post here ASAP.

    Thanks in advance!

    Update: appStore != working over edge either
     
  14. WMuntean macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    #14
    No app store for me. How did you unlock on the previous version. Did you use pwnage?
     
  15. carfac thread starter macrumors 65816

    carfac

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    #15
    Sorry- I was playing in the App store- Remote has my wife Gaga!

    I got a 502 error at first, but I stopped, reset the phone, and reloaded. It worked then.
     
  16. ljump12 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Location:
    philadelphia
    #16
    Can you step me through exactly what you did..?

    Thanks so much!
     
  17. ljump12 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Location:
    philadelphia
    #17
    I used zIphone... I should also note i just ran the hack in the installer to get t-zones working on the 1.1.4... If theres anything else i need to do to get it working on the 2.0 let me know.

    Thanks!
     
  18. WMuntean macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    #18
    Me too. What I'm thinking is to use pwnage 1.1 to revert back 1.1.4 and then get t-zones to work, create a back-up and then pwn 2.0 revert back to the saved settings and see if that will do the trick.
     
  19. ljump12 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Location:
    philadelphia
    #19
    Can't imagine that should make a difference.
     
  20. carfac thread starter macrumors 65816

    carfac

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    #20
    Happy to!

    Started at 1.1.4, previously pwned with TZones working.

    1) Drink a beer. Maybe 2.
    2) Read a lot of messages on this board trying to decide to update. Decide to.
    3) D/L all the stuff I needed: Pwnage, 2.0.ipsw, iTunes 7.7.
    4) Run pwnage, get a custom ipsw on desktop. I told it I had an iPhone, previously pwn, NOT a legal user.
    5) went into DFU mode, iTunes restored w/ custom ipsw.
    6) Bootnueter ran, no changes made to bootloader, firmware upgraded.
    7) tested- NO Safari (Proxy error). No Apps store (WiFi OFF).
    8) Restored to my old info.
    9) Safari again errored out. I powered down and up again, tried again, worked. Checked mail. Got it.

    Thats it.
     
  21. ljump12 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Location:
    philadelphia
    #21
    I like step 1..

    How did you get T-Zones originally working... did you hack through installer, or did you do p-list updates etc.
     
  22. javabear90 macrumors 6502a

    javabear90

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #22
    I've done a bit more reading on hackint0sh and it looks like the manual install might work. One guy said to follow these instructions: Google "T-Mobile T-Zones EDGE Settings Fix for 1.1.4"
    I'm still not going to try anything until I get some more assurances though.
    -Ted
     
  23. WMuntean macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
  24. carfac thread starter macrumors 65816

    carfac

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    #24
    I do, too! That was an important step, which is why I included it! :D

    I started at 1.02, when you had to edit a couple files to get it working. When I went to 1.1.4, I used the Installer.app think under "Tweaks 1.1.4" to make TZones work.

    I guess one of those hacks followed through, because it is working fine.

    OK, I just turned off wifi. Check some more stuff.

    Safari working.

    Google Maps OK
    Locate MeVey Inaccurate, but worked. Oh, it adjusted, much more accurate. Blue circle about 1/2 mile wide.

    Weather works.

    Stocks updated. Got a graph and everything.

    Looks like I am getting (very slowly) the Apps store now, too.

    Good luck all!
     
  25. carfac thread starter macrumors 65816

    carfac

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    #25
    I am sorry.

    Did you PWN at 1.1.4?

    Trying to figure out what I did different than you...

    Did you use the 1.1.4 Installer.app TZones hack?
     

Share This Page