Version 3.1 (Mine says 3.1.1)

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by Enigmafan420, Sep 17, 2009.

  1. Enigmafan420 macrumors 6502a

    Enigmafan420

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Location:
    Puget Sound, U.S.A.
    #1
    So I haven't synced my 1G 32 GB touch for a while and when I plugged it in today, iTunes asked if I wanted to install 3.1.1? WTF?!?
     
  2. DrawnToLife macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    #2
    Well, that's because 3.1 is the firmware that the iPhone's run.
    iPod Touches' run on 3.1.1 (And there wasn't a 3.1, I think.)
    Calm down -.-"
     
  3. After G macrumors 68000

    After G

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #3
    Still 3.1 on my iPhone (2G). Must be a Touch-only update.
     
  4. Enigmafan420 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Enigmafan420

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Location:
    Puget Sound, U.S.A.
    #4
    Thanks-I am calm, it was just like !?! I had never seen that nor even heard of it.
     
  5. iMrNiceGuy0023 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
  6. Enigmafan420 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Enigmafan420

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Location:
    Puget Sound, U.S.A.
    #6
    I am assuming they are one and the same.

    After reading many threads regarding 3.1 issues, I am sticking with 3.0 on the touch out of convenience. Obviously, on the 3GS I have no choice but to not upgrade right now.
     
  7. Muncher macrumors 65816

    Muncher

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #7
    Happened last year with the 2Gs. It's a special version of the software for the new ipod. Future updates will be identical to other iPhones/iPods.
     
  8. spillproof macrumors 68020

    spillproof

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #8
    Yup yup, 3.1 for iPhones and 3.1.1 for iPod touches.
     

Share This Page