version 3 topcase on macbook 1,1

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by sselemit, Aug 6, 2009.

  1. sselemit macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    #1
    I have an old macbook 1,1 and got the discolor issue. So, I ought to replace the topcase. I know that i can use version 2 but can i use version 3? Is the version 3 compatible with my first gen macbook?

    Thank you.
     
  2. logana macrumors 65816

    logana

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #2
    The V3 keyboard works fine on the early MacBook Core Duo models - as long as you are running OSX 10.5 and the media keys work perfectly....

    Are the early MacBooks still not covered by Apple for the discoloration issue - maybe worth a phonecall to AppleCare. Your topcase may well be split too so again Apple may replace the topcase for you.
     
  3. sselemit thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    #3
    Thank you for your informative answer. Did you replace yours as well? How do you come to know this? I just wanna make sure before i make the purchase.

    I did call apple care but the guy said he cannot find any related issue. So I tried to search for the referenced document on apple.com to show to the Genius but no luck. I think going to apple store will yield the same result. What do you guys think?
     
  4. logana macrumors 65816

    logana

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #4
    I used to have a link to the Apple service document for the yellow/brown staining on the early MacBooks but the document is no longer on the Apple site....the document was HT1472.

    I would be very surprised if the Genius Bar have forgotten all about it though
     
  5. congote macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    #5
    Would the version 3 keyboard work on older MacBooks using 10.4? I understand that expose and multimedia keys won't work but I want to know if the other keys may work. Thanks!
     

Share This Page