Vertical lines suddenly appeared on screen (was: holy **** please help me)

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by saeglopur, Dec 22, 2008.

1. saeglopur macrumors newbie

i have had my MBP since last feb. i am a design student and work in the field and use it EVERY day. a few minutes ago, out of nowhere, i got these vertical lines going from the bottom of the screen to the top. it looks like spotlights or a curtain or something. what the hell can i do about this? will apple give me a new comp? let me get one at the apple store? i dont have the time to deal with my machine not working. i have heard about yellow screens and failing graphics chips but never seen/heard of anything like this. help?

2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

Tallest Skil

1. Make your title something appropriate and helpful.
    2. Ah, the backlight lines... common problem. Or maybe not. Is it graphical? Can you take a screenshot of it?
    3. No, you won't get a new computer. Take it to Apple and AppleCare will probably cover it.

3. yoyo5280 macrumors 68000

yoyo5280

take it to your local APPLE STORE, not anything else, and have the genius take a look at it for ya.

4. iObama macrumors 6502

iObama

Take it to the Apple Store and they'll determine what the problem is. Your computer isn't going to die, so calm down with the thread title.

5. spazattack674 macrumors regular

restart the computer or power it off. When you power it back on, hold command, option, P, and R. You will hear the chime and see the apple logo again if you have done it correctly. This resets the PRAM. This happened with my macbook awhile ago and when I spoke with someone at Applecare on the phone they instructed me to do this.

Apple Support Article Link: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1379

6. quotemeas macrumors regular

Reset the PRAM and do a Hardware Reset. If that doesn't help, run the Apple Hardware Test.

7. quotemeas macrumors regular