Very basic question about clip placement in FCP or iMovie

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by swingerofbirch, Jun 6, 2012.

1. swingerofbirch macrumors 68030

The Amalgamated States of Central North America
    Hello,

I am a complete amateur, but I used to be someone who made awesome home movies with each version of iMovie through iMovie 06 HD.

I had iMovie 09 on my MBP, and I attempted to make a home movie again (after having given up on 08 and 09 previously) and once again I got stuck. I paid for iMovie 11 hearing that it brought back the timeline, but it didn't really seem to, and I was still stuck. So I have now downloaded the Final Cut Pro X trial, and after 5 hours of playing around with all these apps, I can't figure out how to do something that took me about a minute in every previous version of iMovie.

So, basically, I went on a vacation where I took one short video clip and lots of photographs. I want to start with the video, then cut to black, then start showing pictures. I have an idea of how I want to show the pictures in sync with the music. The song I picked (the Glee version of Good Riddance . . . I know: groan) has two distinct sudden guitar entrances and I want to show a picture with each one, and cut to black in the silence in between. When the song picks up at a faster pace halfway through I want to start showing some pictures I took in burst mode in rapid succession with no Ken Burns effect.