Very Confused...Which MBP is best for my needs?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by BlueDolphins, Jan 18, 2010.

1. BlueDolphins macrumors newbie

Hi,

I know there are a million of these threads, but I'm not computer literate like everyone else here and the RAM and processor and memory stuff is pretty much a foreign language.

So, I'm pretty much on the market for a new computer. About a year ago I got a Dell Insipon 1420 from Best Buy when they were on sale, I didn't do research because it was a one day sale and I got it at the last hour, so it was very poor decision on my part. Now, it doesn't work as good as I would like. Its slow, noisy and I cannot watch videos and it freezes quite a bit. So I'm quite over PCs or at least Dells.

I'm a college student looking for a good computer that I can watch videos online, do school work and overall just be a good computer that is fast and does what a want without a lot of freezing and slowing down and most importantly a good battery life (which is why I'm looking at macs). I want a 13.3" screen for easy transport around campus, but thats all I really know. and how do I know if it will work with my wireless router at home?

Any advice? Is is best to get the MBP with my student discount which is about ~$100 off or get a refurb? Are refurbs good? I've only gotten one refurb electronic device before and that was a camera which only has a few minor problems. So I'm a bit skeptical about refurb products. But the price is certainly a plus.

I'm looking to spend no more than $1,300... Oh, and I've used macs before for a few years in middle/high school so I'm not worried about no knowing how to use it.

Thanks for any and all advice.

2. espressoroast macrumors member

espressoroast

Hello, and shall I say welcome?