Very first MAC for engineer purpousses

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Chwilami, Nov 11, 2008.

1. Chwilami macrumors newbie

Hi there,

Im new to this forum and I'm about to buy a MacBook (Pro) in a few days. I have been using PC for many years. I got tired of all the Microsoft products and problems with PC's so thats why I'm buying a Mac. THIS WILL BE MY FIRST MAC EVER !
    But the problem is, I will need this computer for engineer works. I heard many good things about Mac making music and graphics. But what about programming microcontrollers and making applications which can be executed on WinXP ? I'am working in a team, where other members work on PCs. I would like to know if I will be able to cooperate with them.

If You could please ensure me, that on my new Mac I would be able to do these tasks:

- Programming Microcontrollers via programmers running with RS-232 interface (USB <-> RS-232 emulator)

- Communications with digital sensors based on RS-232 interface and via some kind of terminal, so I can send a hex value and receive answer.

- Preparing and testing applications in Visual Studio 2005 (also using virtual COM port) which can be then executed on Win XP. I have heard about parallels and VMWare but have no experience and I don't know if it will solve my problem

- Building models in Matlab Simulink (compiled for Mac OS or for Windows) and transfering ready models to PC Matlab.

- Network communication between Mac running Matlab and PC running other software but prepared to exchange data with Matlab.

I do understand that my questions suggest that I'm kind of noob, but I am in fact :eek:
    If you could give me some suggestions and give some advice if it is reasonable to buy a Mac, or should i by an ordinary PC.

PS: I would like to have a Mac.

2. notjustjay macrumors 603

notjustjay