Very high CPU usage when browsing MacRumors forum

Discussion in 'Site and Forum Feedback' started by Manderby, Jul 6, 2015.

  1. Manderby macrumors 6502a

    Manderby

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    #1
    Responsive design is a nice thing. But macrumors goes overboard. My CPU usage jumps to 10% just when moving the mouse and 35% for scrolling, let alone loading pages or editing. I have no idea how to say this differently because I know this is not a quick fix and responsive design is such a nice thing and I really like the forum, but please do something about that. Less JavaScript, more CSS maybe?
     
  2. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
  3. Manderby thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Manderby

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    #3
    MacBookPro 15" 2012. 2.3GHz i7, 8GB RAM, Mavericks 10.9.5, Safari
     
  4. Eric5h5 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    #4
    I can barely get Safari to use more than 1% CPU here. Mostly it's around 0.5% (also on 10.9.5). Probably you have a badly written Flash ad on the page or something.

    --Eric
     
  5. grahamperrin macrumors 601

    grahamperrin

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #5
    7.x or prerelease 9.0?
     
  6. Eric5h5 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    #6
    Would that even run on 10.9.5? Safari 8 requires 10.10.

    --Eric
     
  7. grahamperrin macrumors 601

    grahamperrin

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #7
    Yes. I use it, and I can not associate use of the CPU, by Safari, with any particular use of MacRumors Forums. I have enabled some debug options that are not normally enabled.

    Beyond observations such as those (no observable problem), it'll be inappropriate to discuss the prerelease in public.
     
  8. Manderby thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Manderby

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    #8
    This is my everyday computer, no special prerelease software installed. I run Safari 7.1.7

    Just uninstalled Flash to test it. No change at all. Turned off extensions completely. No change at all. Even editing in this textbox jumps to 30% CPU usage. I do only observe this behaviour on macrumors.com. The vent constantly blowing gave me the hint that something is wrong.

    But I really don't think, this is a Safari only issue. I really believe, the JavaScripts here are a little too jumpy, immediately firing events every 60th of a second even with the slightest change.

    Firefox tops at 40%
    Chrome easily jumps to 60%
    Opera about the same as Safari

    Tested it on Snow Leopard as well. Same thing but even higher when scrolling as there is no GPU scrolling.
    Testing on El Capitan is slightly better when scrolling. Perhaps due to Metal.
     
  9. Eric5h5 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    #9
    Not sure what to say...here's me typing into the text box:

    safaricpu.png

    If it was a fundamental problem with the site, it would show up here too.

    --Eric
     
  10. Manderby thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Manderby

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    #10
    Ok. Don't get me wrong, just trying to help. Here's mine:
    Writing text:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Scrolling:
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Here are some debug infos of one second scrolling under Mav:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  11. Eric5h5 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    #11
    I'm not getting any of those errors/warnings. So I'd expect that has something to do with it.

    --Eric
     
  12. redheeler, Jul 11, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2015

    redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #12
    How are you booting Snow Leopard on a 2012 MacBook Pro? Did you mean 2011?
    Those are just CSS errors and log output. Nothing there should increase CPU usage.
     
  13. redheeler, Jul 11, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2015

    redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #13
    Switch to the plain text editor and the CPU usage will decrease. There's even a setting in Preferences to disable the rich text editor.
     
  14. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #14
    What are the specs of your Mac?
     
  15. grahamperrin macrumors 601

    grahamperrin

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #15
    What method?

    What model is the Mac?

    Makes and models of wired and wireless peripherals?
     
  16. Manderby thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Manderby

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    #16
    No, I have two Work-Laptops of 2009 and 2010 I believe.

    Merci, but I think that's just cosmetics.

    Method: Built-In-Laptop-Trackpad, two fingers. When no laptop: Wired mouse, dragging the scrollbar.
    Model: MacBook Pro 2009, 2010 (SL), MacBook Pro 2012 (Mav) and Mac Mini 2011 (ElCap)
    No wireless peripherals. All wired.

    Now, guessing does not take us any further. Are there at least other people having the same issue? If not, it probably is just my problem. I have no problem admitting this.
     
  17. grahamperrin macrumors 601

    grahamperrin

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #17
    Good point.

    I'd try two things. First safe boot then a normal boot and retry Safari.

    Second – only if the safe boot does not work around the problem(s) – get WebKit.app from http://nightly.webkit.org and then quit Safari before attempting to reproduce the problem with WebKit.

    I'd like to suggest more, troubleshooting, but the most suitable open topic is probably not open enough
     
  18. Manderby thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Manderby

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    #18
    Nah, these are wild guesses not worth the time. Remember, I see this on multiple systems and multiple browsers. No offense.

    I can live with it. I just wanted to ask the question because sometimes, it is something obvious. Obviously, it isn't. Thanks for all the help so far!
     

Share This Page