Very high pings to router

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by MungoA, Dec 29, 2016.

  1. MungoA macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    #1
    Hello! I have very high pings (and drop-offs) to router over Wi-Fi (tested with TP-Link, Linksys, Netgear on different networks):

    Request timeout for icmp_seq 51685
    64 bytes from 192.168.0.1: icmp_seq=51672 ttl=64 time=2944.538 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.0.1: icmp_seq=51673 ttl=64 time=2741.381 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.0.1: icmp_seq=51674 ttl=64 time=2544.916 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.0.1: icmp_seq=51675 ttl=64 time=2342.421 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.0.1: icmp_seq=51676 ttl=64 time=2138.557 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.0.1: icmp_seq=51677 ttl=64 time=1943.425 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.0.1: icmp_seq=51678 ttl=64 time=1739.646 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.0.1: icmp_seq=51679 ttl=64 time=1540.491 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.0.1: icmp_seq=51680 ttl=64 time=1337.293 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.0.1: icmp_seq=51681 ttl=64 time=1138.906 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.0.1: icmp_seq=51682 ttl=64 time=937.983 ms
    Request timeout for icmp_seq 51697
    Request timeout for icmp_seq 51698
    Request timeout for icmp_seq 51699
    Request timeout for icmp_seq 51700
    64 bytes from 192.168.0.1: icmp_seq=51683 ttl=64 time=3714.154 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.0.1: icmp_seq=51684 ttl=64 time=3515.319 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.0.1: icmp_seq=51685 ttl=64 time=3312.347 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.0.1: icmp_seq=51686 ttl=64 time=3111.072 ms
    Request timeout for icmp_seq 51705
    64 bytes from 192.168.0.1: icmp_seq=51687 ttl=64 time=4005.852 ms
    Request timeout for icmp_seq 51707
    Request timeout for icmp_seq 51708
    Request timeout for icmp_seq 51709

    Dropoffs usually appear while using Skype / playing online games (less, when browsing internet). Problem is unsolved since beginning of 2016. On Windows-based machines / iPhone everything's ok.

    Any clues?
     
  2. Howard2k macrumors 6502a

    Howard2k

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    #2
    No offence, but you haven't provided any meaningful information at all. :)

    Maybe you can start by documenting the setup. Both the physical layer and the IP layer. What devices are online, how are they connected, what performance results for which devices to which sources etc.
     
  3. cerberusss, Dec 29, 2016
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2016

    cerberusss macrumors 6502a

    cerberusss

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #3
    Hmmm that's pretty extreme. And this happens on different WiFi networks you say? Which kind of MacBook Pro are we talking about?

    Edit: Ummm wait -- I've got similar ping times too... I don't have the dropping packets, though.

    $ ping 192.168.1.100
    PING 192.168.1.100 (192.168.1.100): 56 data bytes
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.100: icmp_seq=0 ttl=255 time=12.296 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.100: icmp_seq=1 ttl=255 time=3.261 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.100: icmp_seq=2 ttl=255 time=3.898 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.100: icmp_seq=3 ttl=255 time=8.194 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.100: icmp_seq=4 ttl=255 time=3.643 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.100: icmp_seq=5 ttl=255 time=4.469 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.100: icmp_seq=6 ttl=255 time=9.316 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.100: icmp_seq=7 ttl=255 time=1.385 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.100: icmp_seq=8 ttl=255 time=0.870 ms
    ^C
    --- 192.168.1.100 ping statistics ---
    9 packets transmitted, 9 packets received, 0.0% packet loss
    round-trip min/avg/max/stddev = 0.870/5.259/12.296/3.620 ms

    This is a ping to my Airport Express.
     
  4. sidewinder, Dec 29, 2016
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2016

    sidewinder macrumors 68020

    sidewinder

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Northern California
    #4
    scott@MacBookPro:~$ ping 192.168.1.254
    PING 192.168.1.254 (192.168.1.254): 56 data bytes
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: icmp_seq=0 ttl=64 time=1.881 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=2.249 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=17.232 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: icmp_seq=3 ttl=64 time=2.605 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: icmp_seq=4 ttl=64 time=2.420 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: icmp_seq=5 ttl=64 time=2.269 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: icmp_seq=6 ttl=64 time=2.305 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: icmp_seq=7 ttl=64 time=2.254 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: icmp_seq=8 ttl=64 time=3.132 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: icmp_seq=9 ttl=64 time=2.240 ms
    ^C
    --- 192.168.1.254 ping statistics ---
    10 packets transmitted, 10 packets received, 0.0% packet loss
    round-trip min/avg/max/stddev = 1.881/3.859/17.232/4.468 ms

    This is to my AT&T WiFi router.
     
  5. MungoA thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    #5
    Some information:

    macOS Sierra (10.12)
    MacBook Pro (15-inch, Mid 2015)

    • Just one additional device is attached now (iPhone).
    • Connection through WiFi.
    • Connection was also tested when iPhone was acting like a hotspot (still unsatisfiable results)
    • Routers were configured for 2.4/5Ghz channel, different 802.11 modes, bandwidth, modes, ...
    • Got pings below 1ms when a connection is through a cable (and drop-offs never occur).
     
  6. Howard2k macrumors 6502a

    Howard2k

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    #6
    Ping from where to where? Which IP is the MBPro, which is the router? How are they connected?
     
  7. MungoA thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    #7
    What do you mean by how are they connected? It could be a home router, iPhone (as I said: connection was also tested when iPhone was acting like a hotspot) or company's huge LAN.

    Example:
    Router's IP: 192.168.0.1
    My local IP: 192.168.0.12

    Any ideas Howard2k?
     
  8. Blackforge macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    #8
    Are you connected via 2.4Ghz or 5Ghz? Can you bring up the wireless details and see what your signal strength is like, etc. Just hold Alt/Option and select the Wifi symbol. It'll give you all your wireless details. You can also run wireless diagnostics that you can send to Apple.

    Is your router configured to share the same SSID between the 2.4Ghz/5Ghz or do they have separate SSIDs? If they're separate can you compare the two connection types?

    Do you have a lot of neighboring wireless networks that might have conflicting channels?

    I personally had an Asus RT-AC87U at one point in time that was absolute garbage with all Apple devices due to it's problematic Atheros chipset. Similar behavior to what you're seeing.

    I only have a Early 2011 15" MBP at the moment, but currently seems to be running fine with my Netgear Nighthawk X8 - R8500.

    You mention 10.12? Are you running 10.12.2? Running any third party software that might be acting as a firewall or interfering with the network stack in any way?

    Since it happens to multiple routers including an iPhone, it sounds like you're possibly having a Wireless card issue and would need to talk to Apple to get it replaced/repaired.
     
  9. MungoA thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    #9
    Routers were configured for 2.4/5Ghz channel, different 802.11 modes, bandwidth, modes, ...
    But I also read just the last post I reply to :)


    I see 22 wireless networks
    Security: WPA/WPA2 Personal
    RSSI: -61dBm
    Noise: -95dBm
    Transmission speed: 104Mb/s
    PHY mode: 802.11n
    MCS index: 13
     
  10. MungoA thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
  11. MungoA thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    #11
    Any thoughts guys? Unfortunately, we do not have official service here in my country.
     
  12. belvdr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #12
    "Official service"? What do you mean?
     
  13. DJLC macrumors 6502a

    DJLC

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    Mooresville, NC
    #13
    So — just to be clear — ping times from another system to the same router are satisfactory?

    If that's the case it sounds like you've eliminated the router as the issue. Do you have perhaps a Linux boot disc you could boot the MacBook off of to test? See if another OS has the same problem on your system? That'll eliminate it being a macOS issue vs. an issue with your wireless hardware.

    If your results from the alternate OS are satisfactory, I'd double check all your macOS network settings. Remove any software that might otherwise be screwing with it. Possibly delete and re-add the WiFi interface in System Prefs. Last resort, reinstall, but hopefully that's not necessary.

    If your results from the alternate OS show the same issue, double check that all antenna cables are fully seated on the AirPort card and that the card itself is fully seated in the logic board (may or may not be applicable). Last resort, replace the wireless hardware.
     
  14. MungoA, Jan 5, 2017
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2017

    MungoA thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    #14
    Better DJLC! As I said - in the safe mode pings are just right (stable and low).

    I've almost closed all my apps and still nothing. It's like there is some hidden process that chokes my connection to the router.

    Remove any software that might otherwise be screwing with it.


    I believe this might be an issue, but there are no more user processes running.
    --- Post Merged, Jan 5, 2017 ---
    It's finally solved after one year

    As suggested on http://apple.stackexchange.com/ques...s-in-normal-mode-okay-ping-times-in-safe-mode I lowered MTU size to 1300 and now my pings look like this:

    64 bytes from 213.180.141.140: icmp_seq=75 ttl=58 time=58.983 ms
    64 bytes from 213.180.141.140: icmp_seq=76 ttl=58 time=67.634 ms
    64 bytes from 213.180.141.140: icmp_seq=77 ttl=58 time=71.986 ms
    64 bytes from 213.180.141.140: icmp_seq=78 ttl=58 time=70.731 ms
    64 bytes from 213.180.141.140: icmp_seq=79 ttl=58 time=40.132 ms
    64 bytes from 213.180.141.140: icmp_seq=80 ttl=58 time=89.164 ms
    64 bytes from 213.180.141.140: icmp_seq=81 ttl=58 time=49.318 ms
    64 bytes from 213.180.141.140: icmp_seq=82 ttl=58 time=60.635 ms
    64 bytes from 213.180.141.140: icmp_seq=83 ttl=58 time=59.955 ms
    64 bytes from 213.180.141.140: icmp_seq=84 ttl=58 time=33.179 ms
    64 bytes from 213.180.141.140: icmp_seq=85 ttl=58 time=78.768 ms
    64 bytes from 213.180.141.140: icmp_seq=86 ttl=58 time=88.277 ms
    64 bytes from 213.180.141.140: icmp_seq=87 ttl=58 time=82.150 ms
    64 bytes from 213.180.141.140: icmp_seq=88 ttl=58 time=89.760 ms
    64 bytes from 213.180.141.140: icmp_seq=89 ttl=58 time=82.250 ms
    64 bytes from 213.180.141.140: icmp_seq=90 ttl=58 time=87.109 ms
    64 bytes from 213.180.141.140: icmp_seq=91 ttl=58 time=46.624 ms
    64 bytes from 213.180.141.140: icmp_seq=92 ttl=58 time=83.434 ms
    64 bytes from 213.180.141.140: icmp_seq=93 ttl=58 time=78.690 ms
    64 bytes from 213.180.141.140: icmp_seq=94 ttl=58 time=68.031 ms

     
  15. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #15
    If it works fine in safe mode, that is pretty much proof positive you have some app or utility running that is causing this, since safe mode stops all startup and launch items.

    Download and run Etrecheck after a regular boot (not safe mode). It will create an anonymized report showing everything running. You can post the report here for us to have a look if you like.
     
  16. belvdr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #16
    I agree. Lowering the MTU is not a solution, but a temporary fix. I have not had to touch the MTU since the dialup days, with the exception of a jumbo frame enabled VLAN.

    OP, note that even if you stopped all user processes, background processes and services could be causing the issue. These will likely not show up as running under your user account.
     

Share This Page