Very long load times and poor performance - TF2

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by posnera, Jun 13, 2010.

  1. posnera macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    #1
    I'm on a 15" MBP, 2.4 ghz, 2gb ram

    Loading TF2 and then starting a new game takes a very long time. Then, my performance is pretty poor. I haven't tried turning down all settings yet, but I get much better performance in HL2 using the recommended settings.

    As for the load times, is there anything that will help? Would upgrading to 4gb ram matter?
     
  2. TRUCRACKER macrumors 6502

    TRUCRACKER

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Location:
    VA
    #2
    I'm having problem too including freezing making me force quit.
     
  3. ajvizzgamer101 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    United States
    #3
    I have the same problem! I have 4GB of Ram and have turned down all the settings. I was able to play it perfectly fine using Crossover, but now that Steam is out I was hoping I didn't need it anymore! My bet is that Valve needs to patch it up.
     
  4. posnera thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
  5. Libertine Lush macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    #5
  6. oligore macrumors member

    oligore

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    #6
    I get the same crappy loading and connection times for TF2 on the my Mac and PC. Halflife series loads faster; Counterstrike connects to server faster than TF2
     
  7. Libertine Lush macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    #7
    Also, just launching the game to get to the title menu seems to take a bit too long.
     
  8. imassents macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    #8
    ...

    dis is total bs, how can tf2 take longa 2 load than chess? im neva gonna play dis crap agin.
     
  9. DesmoPilot macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    #9
    May I suggest going back to school instead?
     
  10. imassents macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    #10
    Highly intelligent species you are, didn't even finish your post with "check and mate" just for a bit of extra gg?

    Go back to failing. kthx
     
  11. DesmoPilot macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    #11
    Hm, I appear to of struck a nerve. Check and mate.
     
  12. imassents macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    #12
    Sorry, no prize for second.

    Also, did you mean "have" as in "have struck a nerve"?
     

Share This Page