VERY Noob question but help is appreciated

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by mjz147, May 5, 2010.

1. mjz147 macrumors regular

I searched and searched and couldn't find anything relevant from the past month.

I am new to the iPhone hacking, I have an 8gb iPhone 3G

version 3.1.3 (7E18)

Modem firmware 5.12.01

Bootloader version 5.09 [G2M3S2]

When I got the phone it was running these things, I am trying to unlock it but its not working, obvously I am JB. I downlaoded fuzzyband, but that only helps downgrade 5.08 down to 4.26

Anyway the initial question is: Is their any fix to that as of now?

And If I restore it to factory and reload an older version, say 3.01 or something like that, will that change the bootloader version or is that something hardware wise, or something too important to mess with?

Any help is appreciated, I came from an android device and am new to iPhone hacking.

2. thelatinist macrumors 603

thelatinist

Unless you are one of the few people for whom fuzzyband works, there is no way to downgrade your baseband. And there is currently no way to unlock 05.12.01.

3. mjz147 thread starter macrumors regular

damnn
    Thanks for the help.

Even if I go back to 3.1.2 or even before that, I can't unlock it??
    I have no problem restoring my phone if I can unlock it.

4. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

Applejuiced

No, once the baseband is updated it cannot be downgraded again unlike firmware where you can go down to 3.0 or 3.1.2 etc..

5. mjz147 thread starter macrumors regular

Man that sucks.

Thanks for the help tho. I know the guys who figure out how to jailbreak or unlock these things are geniouses but will they be able to do it in the near future with this all this stuff?

My plan was to use a prepaid tmobile sim card but that didn't work haha

if I use a prepaid AT&T sim card will it work or do you need a reguler AT&T sim card?

6. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

Applejuiced

Yes, a prepaid AT&T sim will work fine.