Resolved Very Odd QuickTime Issues

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ghall, Jan 16, 2012.

  1. ghall, Jan 16, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2012

    ghall macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #1
    I am having a very odd problem with my MacBook Pro, and I am totally stumped. I'm going to go to as much detail as I can even though it may not seem neccissary, it's probably the best to have as much info as possible.

    I was playing around with Motion (latest version) today, and I exported my project as a video. That's when things got weird. After I quit out of Motion the computer started having slowdown issues, just for a moment but then it came back up. I imported the clip into GarageBand to add some sound, and that worked fine, so then I exported the whole video file and then...I wasn't able to open the file, but the Quick Look preview worked fine...except the video didn't export. So I tried opening another video file, same thing, except it did work perfectly in Quick Look. So then I tried just opening an audio file...nope didn't work. I tried re-exporting the video from Motion and all I got when I viewed it in QuickLook was blackness.

    So now I'm very nervous, so I did basically everything. Both FSCK and Disk Utility said the disk was fine, and SMART checks out. So then I ran permissions repair, and a bunch of maintenance scrips. Nothing. So then I reset the PRAM. Nothing. So, out of total desperation I reinstalled the OS...nothing.

    I have not installed any new software or plug-ins since way before this issue started. RAM checks out. Hard drive checks out. The only thing that happened was when I went to use my MacBook last night, I got a nasty static shock when I touched it (curse these New England winters), but you'd think that would cause more harm than just QuickTime having a total meltdown.

    So I've been working on this on-and-off for a few hours, and I am totally confused. I have everything safely backed up so I'm not too worried about having to whipe out the hard drive, I just don't want to do that unless I absolutly have to.
     
  2. ghall thread starter macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #2
    I think I figured it out. The one thing I didn't try was logging in as a different user. Turns out, when I'm logged into another account it works great. I just need to figure out what it is in my home folder that's screwing everything up.

    Any ideas?
     
  3. ghall thread starter macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #3
    Just decided to nuke my library folder and restore one from my backup. Had to do that from a separate user account, but now it works. Yay.
     

Share This Page