Very quick request for 2 secs help

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by Stormyguy, Jul 2, 2007.

  1. Stormyguy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Location:
    UK (Sussex)
    #1
    Hi all

    Not sure if this is the ideal place for this but we are currently on a raodtrip in the USA and using iWeb to build our travel site and blog as we go. It seems people back in the UK aren't able to view the site any longer (was OK until a few days ago). We seem to be getting hits as the hit counter on the front page seems to be creeping up (not us hitting it). It's quite frustrating as people are keen to know what we've been up to!

    Anyhow, I wondered if anyone could look at

    http://web.mac.com/macdreamtime (click to Road Trip 2007 on the top index page)

    and let me know if you can view it, espec if you're in the UK???

    Most grateful for anyone's two seconds who can take the time to see if it works for you

    Thanks
    Danny
     
  2. R.Youden macrumors 68020

    R.Youden

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
  3. Fahrwahr macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Location:
    Southeastern U.S.
    #3
    The road trip page looks fine in Camino 1.5 in the states (downloaded via BellSouth, I mean, the new AT&T).
     
  4. Sdashiki macrumors 68040

    Sdashiki

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Location:
    Behind the lens
    #4

    Attached Files:

  5. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
  6. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #6
    Works for me in Florida also... one thing I'd recommend... you have many files cached in paths like this one:

    /macdreamtime/iWeb/Road%20Trip%202007/

    You really want to avoid this, as occasionally, it will lead you to trouble. Try something like:

    roadtrip2007
    road_trip_2007
    rt2007

    Try to keep folder names short, don't rely on case sensitivity, and don't use spaces or other special characters. 90% of the time, these things don't cause problems, but it's good practice, and it keeps the URLs shorter and less complex for the browser to parse.
     
  7. Lau Guest

    #7
    Working fine in here the UK too. Tried "Day 7" and all the pictures are loading fine. Have a good trip!
     
  8. Stormyguy thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Location:
    UK (Sussex)
    #8
    Thanks to all who've taken the trouble to look. I'll try and clear up those URL's next time (I think I read about that once before somewhere) - don't want to go changing the whole site name in the middle of the trip!

    I wonder why some of our pals are having probs. Oh well!

    Thanks again
    Danny
     
  9. QuarterSwede macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #9
    Works fine in Colorado (using Qwest). Hope you're having fun on the trip.
     
  10. OutThere macrumors 603

    OutThere

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Location:
    NYC
    #10
    Works fine for me...I don't see why you'd have problems seeing it from different places, but it's always good to be safe. :)
     
  11. Stormyguy thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Location:
    UK (Sussex)
    #11
    Yeah it's odd - one of our chums has issues with it on his mac (brand new iMac). My ISP and router back home in the UK can be a biut 'odd' at times and I sometimes have to turn it off for 5/10mins and then power it all back up and it's fine (it's almost like the router 'loses it's way' to the .mac servers).

    Another buddy tells me that .mac in the UK can be a little sketchy from time to time but will still be fine in the US.

    The other people with viewing probs are PC peeps - one friend can't view the top domain page http://web.mac.com/macdreamtime but CAN view the sub-pages with the "/iWeb/RoadTrip........" part included on the URL. Oddness!

    Again cheers for all the replies!
     
  12. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #12
    Oooh, now I think I can confirm...

    I just tried this in Win2003, on both FF2.0 and IE6.0. In FF2, it worked fine. In IE6, it did the same thing your Windows friend had. I think I might have some insight into why, although I'm not certain.

    The very first index page*I get when I click on the link in MSIE looks like this:

    Code:
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
    <!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
    <html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
    <head><title></title>
    <meta http-equiv="refresh" content="0;url= iWeb/Index/Index.html" />
    </head>
    <body></body>
    </html>
    (I added in some carriage returns).

    Note the meta tag and the way the URL in it looks... if that URL is an absolute link (replacing the text after url with http://web.mac.com/macdreamtime/iWeb/Index/Index.html), it loads in IE.

    I'm not super familiar with iWeb, and I'm guessing here, but I wonder if that explains why the first index page does not load in MSIE.... if there's something you can do to replace that either with an absolute URL, or perhaps with one that begins with ~/iweb/... instead of just iweb/, perhaps that will help?
     
  13. Stormyguy thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Location:
    UK (Sussex)
    #13
    OK, interesting.

    Well, I have iWeb set up to run a few different domains after the

    http://web.mac.com/macdreamtime.

    The Index/Index bit is the front page for the road trips and is one 'domain' file in iWeb'

    Road%20Trip%202007 is another for this year's trip and is one other domain file.

    Then I have my Photography stuff which is in another domain (linked off that Index page - you can see for yourself....). I have a masked domain that points at that one.

    The reason for splitting up all the domain files is so iWeb doesn't have to republish everything all the time (i.e only needs to do it's stuff with the road trip pages). In iWeb there are two ways to 'publish' to the servers. 1st is "publish ALL to .Mac", 2nd is "publish to .Mac"

    If you hit 'publish ALL' it will make that site you are working on the site that the base domain will find at http://web.mac.com/macdreamtime

    At present that page is the Index page.

    Maybe I will try and publish the Index page again renaming it.

    I don't get what you mean about renaming it (sorry not very meta-savvy)- I can do it though so pls let me know and I'll give it a try?

    Danny :)
     
  14. Stormyguy thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Location:
    UK (Sussex)
    #14
    OK, I republished the main Index page so if that's gonna help then all good!

    Interestingly - if it makes any difference the site's fine for us in Parallels on MSIE 6 too.
     

Share This Page