Very strange... Why don't referenced files delete from aperture?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by jnadz, Apr 15, 2012.

1. jnadz macrumors newbie

I'm relatively new to Mac and recently purchased aperture. I set up my aperture library by referencing my iPhoto library since I have over 18,000 photos and didn't want aperture to make 18,000 copies.

I must be misunderstanding what "referencing" files means because I recently went through a couple events in iPhoto and deleted a number of photos. I then emptied the iPhoto trash, however when I open aperture, those photos are still in the aperture library. How is this possible if the referenced file was permanently deleted?

Also, I know I should probably move completely to aperture for my organization and ditch iPhoto but I haven't completely figured out how I want to organize everything, so for now I'm leaving everything in the iPhoto library and referencing the library in aperture.... Or so I thought.

So if anybody can point out where my logic is flawed, I would appreciate it. It's driving me crazy that its not logical to me.

2. jnadz thread starter macrumors newbie

3. odinsride macrumors 65816

odinsride

When using referenced files in Aperture, you must delete unwanted photos from within Aperture. Simply deleting them from iPhoto or from disk won't remove them from Aperture. Even though the photos are not physically stored in the Aperture Library file, they are still being "managed" (for lack of a better word) by Aperture, and any deletes need to be done from within Aperture if you want it completely removed from Aperture.

That's because Aperture allows for "Offline Photos" - you can still view and organize those photos even if the master files cannot be found. For example, if you stored your masters on an external hard drive that happened to be unplugged, you wouldn't want those photos to be completely removed from Aperture!