VGA for 2009 MP

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by maxmaut, Jul 23, 2012.

  1. maxmaut, Jul 23, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2012

    maxmaut macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    #1
    UPD: Nvidia Quadro FX1800 is working in my 09 MP with ML out-of-the-box.

    Hi everyone, a quick question here - can I use Nvidia quadro FX 1800 on my 2009 MP? Without flashing or anything else. Can I use a usual VGA that was used on PC, or I should get special mac one?
    Where can I find a list of compatible video cards for my mac pro?
    Thanks for your replies!
     
  2. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #2
    That card isnt even a desktop GPU from what I can see.

    But the answer is no.

    Generally, all PC cards require flashing, and only a few are compatible. But some works OOB today, with minor flaws as no bootscreen.

    There is no GPU for Mac Pro that is hassle free except for the ones Apple sell.
     
  3. maxmaut thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    #3
    Cindori, thanks for the reply.

    I have a card in my hands right now, it is Nvidia Quadro FX 1800.

    I am willing to use it with flashing firmware, because I gor it for free and just can't let it lay in the drawer =)

    SO what are my options?

    I downloaded Freya, but did not find current model in the list.

    What should I do?

    Oh, and in case if I succeed, should I remove the old card or just leave it be?
     
  4. maxmaut thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    #4
    Is there any way I could use Quadro FX 1800 in my 09 MP?
     
  5. maxmaut thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    #5
    I could really use some advice here.
    Is Quadro FX 1800 compatible with mac pro or can it be flashed? Or I could just get rid of it?
     
  6. Asgorath macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #6
    Can you post a link to the exact card you have? As Cindori said, the only reference I can find is to a mobile one, which clearly won't work in a Mac Pro.

    Wy don't you just plug it in and see what happens? It'll either work, or the screen will stay black.
     
  7. maxmaut thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    #7
    Yep, It's working. Just plugged it in and it's working, no flashing or something. Awesome, thanks.
     

Share This Page