Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

MacDuff

macrumors regular
Original poster
Nov 17, 2002
San Francisco
Can anyone help me with finding the best way to input vhs video (such as home videos) into iMovie on my Powerbook? Is there a cable I need or a converter that will plug from my VCR into a usb formatted output? Is this possible or am I dreaming. I'm a graphic designer not a videographer so it's new territory.

Thanks a lot for any help.

gotohamish

macrumors 65816
Jul 15, 2001
BKLN
Re: VHS video into iMovie?

Originally posted by MacDuff
Can anyone help me with finding the best way to input vhs video (such as home videos) into iMovie on my Powerbook? Is there a cable I need or a converter that will plug from my VCR into a usb formatted output? Is this possible or am I dreaming. I'm a graphic designer not a videographer so it's new territory.

Thanks a lot for any help.

I use the Canopus ADVC-50 with my PowerMac tower. It's a PCI card, but comes with an internal drive bay bezel for PC enclosure. BUT, before you think - I SAID POWERBOOK, here's the good bit.

It is a PCI/bezel for cost cutting only. It doesn't actually use the PCI bus, it just takes it's power from it. Also, it has a 4-hole power socket like all IDE drives have, so you can power it using any 5 1/4" drive enclosure - USB or Firewire or even an old SCSI one I think - you won't be using anything but it's power so it doesn't matter. Once receiving power it connect to any Mac with iMovie or FCP3 via the supplied Firewire cable.

It has S-Video and composite inputs and does VHS very well - espeically since it only costs $199!

I can use it powered of my PM to capture on my PowerBook - cool!

They also do a ADVC-100 which has an analog output to go back to VHS, and it's a self contained external unit so is plug and play with any firewire computer.

I hope I helped, good luck!

irmongoose

macrumors 68030