VHSC tapes to MAC

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by missmatched, Apr 24, 2011.

1. missmatched macrumors newbie

Hi there,

I am trying to transfer my mum and dads VHSC tapes to my mac to then edit and burn onto dvd. I have the camcorder still however the only outputs in the camera are edit, audio (white), RF DC OUT, and Video (yellow). I do also have the video adapter where you put the VHSC tapes into and play it in a VHS player. However the tv/video combo I have only has one scart and aerial output and is the vhs player I have. I do also have a mini DV camcorder with the DV output to firewire cable. Is there anyway I can hook any of these devices with another tv or straight to laptop without spending anymore money please, as I am a student and cant avoid anymore equipment. Any help and guidance appreciated, if you need anymore info please let me know.

Amy :)

2. alph45 macrumors member

If your miniDV has RCA inputs(red/yellow/white), plug VHCS player in, make miniDV dups and transfer to computer via firewire. If your miniDV doesn't have RCA inputs your out of luck without buying more equipment.

This is assuming your using a MAC, some PC laptops have RCA in.

3. bearcatrp macrumors 68000

Sounds like your dv camcorder is your only option, provided iMovie recognizes it. Do a quick clip, then see if you can import.
    Since the camcorder doesn't have record in, about the only thing you can do is play the movie in a quiet room and record it with the camcorder. Won't be the best quality, but you will be able to get it on the Mac, provided iMovie recognizes it. What kind of camcorder is it? Another option is find someone with a camcorder that has the ability to record in. My Sony SR100 does this, buts the quality isn't the greatest.

4. notjustjay macrumors 603

notjustjay