VICE C64 emulator - how get it to work?

Discussion in 'macOS Sierra (10.12)' started by MrMister111, Apr 3, 2017.

  1. MrMister111 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    I want to play an old C64 game. OpenEMU (although great), doesn't support C64. I read that VICE is goo d on Mac?

    I downloaded it, I get the blue C64 screen, but not sure after this to open stuff etc? d I have to download anything else? No idea how to do it! As I say OpenEMU is a great app and is easy to use.

    thanks
     
  2. Tech198, Apr 3, 2017
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2017

    Tech198 macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #2
    I use VICE on 10.12.4

    .d64, .tap, and .crt are all images from real floppy disks/cassette/ or cartridges used on the Commodore 64, so u need these first to load, just like u need to load something from cassette or 1541 floppy drives back in the day

    You can find these Google search

    Once downloaded, n u may need to un-compress them (double clicking will do it. most are in .zip format and will uncompress on the Mac), then open up Vice, and from "File" menu "Attach disk image."

    Point to your .d64. or .tap image you downloaded and that's all there is to it. Keyboard/Joystick emulation may need to be set up.

    http://vice-emu.sourceforge.net/vice_2.html#SEC5

    The only thing which doesn't work is saving programs.. Although a workaround by taking a snapshot from the menu.
     
  3. MrMister111 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Thanks.

    I got the download from that site, but I don't have the menu for File>Open. It's not there on the top?? I have some images of .tap though.

    When I extracted the VICE download I clicked on x64 it opened the C64 screen

    Do you need to add a BIOS or something?

    I like OpenEMU for the interface and ease, and also allows me to use my Steel Nimbus gamepad
     
  4. Tech198 macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #4

    No.

    (Attached) You should be able to also use the game pad with 64 as well.... although configuration may be required in Vice Settings
     

    Attached Files:

  5. MrMister111 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    Strange this is what I get, what am I doing wrong?

    [​IMG]
     
  6. Tech198 macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
  7. MrMister111 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #7

    Attached Files:

  8. Tech198, Apr 4, 2017
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2017

    Tech198 macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #8
    ok.. . i'm using 3.1. FN + F12 works for me...... try that. This is the the way to bring up menu now with SDL version..
     
  9. MrMister111 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    pressing that takes me to dashboard!?!? grrrr
     
  10. Tech198, Apr 5, 2017
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2017

    Tech198 macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #10
    You need to disable shortcuts.... Mac has control over it.... On the Mac Go to System Preferences >>> Keyboard, Shortcuts.

    Uncheck this, and while your there in Mission Control, uncheck that as well... Keyboard will conflict with C64

    Hen u've used FN +F12 in C64, go to "autostart image" and choose directory and/or file..

    "Autostart image" is used so u don't have to manually type in LOAD "*",8 afterwards.

    Default controls are arrow keys, and RETURN is fire.. But i guess these can be changed,, I'm still getting used to version 3.1 myself.

    If it still doesn't work, I dunno what else to say. as it works ok for the stuff i'm doing.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. MrMister111, Apr 6, 2017
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2017

    MrMister111 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    Ok thanks for help, I disabled it and got a game loaded! at last, however what are the keyboard controls, or even better can I use my Steelseries iOS controller? If so how do I map?

    I'm trying to go through menus, I use the up/down, but what I select? is it space? just doesn't seem to enable stuff etc?

    e.g. go down in menu to keyboard settings, and I want to chose British I scroll onto it, but hitting ret or space won't select it?

    So now I've (at last!) got a game loaded but I cant play it! Just like being back in the 80s with the tape cassette loading ha ha
     
  12. BugHunter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    #12
    So I just came across this issue myself, one thing that's really going to help is making sure you grab the cocoa version not the SDL version
    http://vice-emu.sourceforge.net/macosx.html

    As far as when a game is loaded, I think the trick is working out what Run/Stop has been mapped to on your keyboard. (I haven't done it lately but I remember getting stuck on load screens for ages too)
     
  13. MagnusVonMagnum macrumors 601

    MagnusVonMagnum

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    #13
    I can't for the life of me reconfigure joystick buttons in the last Cocoa version of Vice that works in El Capitan (2.4). They all show "NA" when I click on a button even though it shows PS3 joystick in the list and the joystick works fine for 1 button. The problem is that Castle Wolfenstein uses a lot of keyboard buttons and it would be nice to remap those to a game controller's extra buttons (especially considering the button for fire gun on the mapped keyboard is the "`" key which doesn't work well for holding a game controller in the left hand and trying to press that key with your right hand. It's awful. The remap keys options are awful. Nothing works right for joysticks, only the keyboard. I tried older versions (I've had Vice for over 10 years). They don't even recognize the square button as the joystick button. They want the push down on the controller stick button to be used as the joystick button (AWFUL, just AWFUL). Now the "team" has gone to "SDL" because they're lazy sods and don't want to make proper software anymore, thinking the GUI to use is the one that NO ONE (outside of Linux) uses and the last version PERIOD of Vice REQUIRES High Sierra! REALLY??? El Capitan doesn't work? NOPE! God awful emulator authors....
     
  14. Tech198, Feb 13, 2018
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2018

    Tech198 macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #14
    The Coco version is what i prefer, as its the old style menu bar at the top compared to the newer SDL one..

    You gotta configure keyboard as its an "emulator" running on a Mac.... Gives users confidence as well as they can use whatever keys they like, since any emulator keyboard look, feel and actions will be different.

    There is no Run/Stop key on Mac for instance

    You have to press the key on the keyboard first, *then* click the N/A button. eg left allow will be left cursor key.

    There are better versions, always have been, of emulators for Windows, as there better supported, much more of a development needed. But for what its worth.. it works.

    Just because its listed as a joystick/controller doesn't always mean its gonna work,, it may be just the development.. And if that's the case, the only thing to try is the SDL version, (which i know we hate), but that's really the only other thing, apart from filing bugs if you want, or go on lemonC64 forum and some do hang out there i think.
     
  15. MagnusVonMagnum macrumors 601

    MagnusVonMagnum

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    #15
    I think there's a run/stop key; it's the caps lock key here. The * key that was on the upper right quadrant is mapped to the "`" (shifted it's the tilda ~ key). Sadly, that makes Castle Wolfenstein hard to play. If I could remap joystick keys, it would work better. Even Mame can remap joysticks on the Mac properly. I wasn't even able to get SDL to work here (at least with any easily accessed config options). Geeze, how hard is it to maintain the Cocoa version when it's 99.9% the same between version updates? The real problem is no one really cares. Frankly, the C64 emulator worked near perfect 8 years ago. The joystick config is one of the things that has changed, but it doesn't work so it doesn't really matter. The only thing improved, is that a PS3 or any other dual stick game controller has a button mapped to the right side buttons in addition to the one you get when you press down on the stick (bad bad bad for C64 games for that to do anything as it really messes up games like Archon). Fortunately, I do have Mac compatible Atari to USB adapters and can use my old Amiga and Atari joysticks with emulators like this. The problem is you STILL need the keyboard keys to play Wolfenstein since those joysticks really do only have one button on them. Sadly, there is no simple way to remap the keyboard keys without editing key maps.... You can easily assign keyboard joystick assignments, but they don't work at the same time as the USB one. You have to edit the keyboard maps.... It's the biggest drawback in the entire emulator, IMO. SDL probably won't make it "better" either since the menus are where? Not at the top or anywhere easy to get at. It's LINUX garbage at its finest. A giant PITA to use.
     
  16. Daniel H macrumors newbie

    Daniel H

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2018
    #16
    For some reason when I go to file, I don't get the "Attach Disk Image" option... Can someone help!?
     
  17. Daniel H macrumors newbie

    Daniel H

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2018
    #18
    Nothing, I just get the normal things that you’d find on a Mac’s top bar.
     
  18. MagnusVonMagnum macrumors 601

    MagnusVonMagnum

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    #19
    It sounds like the emulator isn't selected somehow, then. If I run x64.app, I get the C64 emulator in a window to start and all the options are most definitely present in the menu bar to open images, etc.
     

Share This Page