Video boost for G4 Cube

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by jbarley, Apr 8, 2015.

  1. jbarley macrumors 68030

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #1
    Received my GeForce 6200 from Hong Kong this morning, dropped right in no problems, and the results were well worth the wait.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Gamer9430 macrumors 68020

    Gamer9430

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Location:
    Central New Jersey, USA
    #2

    Wouldn't the higher number be more powerful?
     
  3. jbarley thread starter macrumors 68030

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #3
    That's my point and why I'm so pleased.
     
  4. Gamer9430 macrumors 68020

    Gamer9430

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Location:
    Central New Jersey, USA
    #4

    Ah ok, I get it now.
     
  5. flyrod macrumors 6502

    flyrod

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    #5
    Nice! Which version of this card did you get? Did you flash it yourself? What RAM GPU speeds are you using?
     
  6. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #6
    That makes me really want to get off my butt and flash my 6200. Mine is even in my "flashing computer", but I need to get a newer version of ATIFlash than the one I've been using, and just haven't had the time recently.

    13 days until defense...
     
  7. hwojtek macrumors 6502a

    hwojtek

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    A small rural village in western Poland
    #7
    Are you aware that ATI numbering has nothing to do with Nvidia GPU numbering scheme?
    What you said is "A Nissan 100NX should be faster than a Pontiac G7 because number".
     
  8. ptdebate macrumors 6502

    ptdebate

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2014
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    #8
    In Jbarley's reply, he was talking about the higher number of the benchmark score, not the model number.
     
  9. jbarley thread starter macrumors 68030

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #9
    I'm not familiar with the versions, this one has 256MB and a large passive heat sink (covers 50% of the card).
    It seems to run pretty cool with just the base fan on medium setting, even through my vigourous video tests.
    The card came flashed and taped, the seller emailed me and asked what system I was going to use it in.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. jbarley thread starter macrumors 68030

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #10
    Just what part of my "original" post are you having trouble understanding.
    I said or inferred no such thing.
     
  11. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #11
    Core image makes a huge difference-in my experience-in Leopard and especially Tiger. As far as I know, this is the only readily available core image card for a G5. That's part of why I'm really anxious to get mine going.

    I also need to find some of the VRM ribbon cables so I can install a few of the other cards Jbarley has sent me :)
     
  12. jbarley thread starter macrumors 68030

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #12
    Just noticed something, it would appear with this GeForce 6200 card that I've lost any form of computer-software monitor brightness control.
    The only way I set set my screen brightness is by using the hardware controls built into my monitor, not exactly a deal breaker, more like just a nuisance.
     
  13. flyrod macrumors 6502

    flyrod

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    #13
    Does the computer still sleep ok? I had a flashed card a while back that seemed to be causing sleep problems. I don't remember the details...
     
  14. jbarley thread starter macrumors 68030

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #14
    It does now, with a little help from this utility.
     
  15. hwojtek macrumors 6502a

    hwojtek

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    A small rural village in western Poland
    #15
    Whoops, my bad.
     

Share This Page