Video card for WoW

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by prechrchet, Apr 7, 2010.

  1. prechrchet macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    #1
    I have a Mac Pro (1,1) and am running World of Warcraft on it. Currently, my mac is equipped with a NVIDIA GeForce 7300 GT video card, and I am considering upgrading it to something a bit stronger.

    There is a thread on the wow forums that lists a number of cards, but it is over three years old, and may be out of date. (The card that it suggests for my machine is an ATI Radeon X1900 XT.

    Is this still a valid suggestion? Or is there a better card that I can get for $200 or less?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    nVidia GeForce GT 120

    Have you considered buying a PC card and then flashing it? You can get PC 4870 for 200$ and it's 349$ from  Store
     
  3. prechrchet thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    #3
    Not sure what you mean.
     
  4. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #4
    Well, you buy e.g. this card and then see this thread to get it work. That's the same card what Apple sells for 349$, VERY fast one
     
  5. prechrchet thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    #5
    Sounds promising!

    Has anyone run this card with Wow? Are there any issues that anyone knows of?
     
  6. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #6
    Ask from the thread I linked. I'm sure you will found the answer by browsing through it as 4870 is very popular card to flash
     
  7. Kenndac macrumors 6502

    Kenndac

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    #7
    The GT 120 will NOT work on a Mac Pro 1,1.

    The Radeon 4870 from Apple works just fine, and my Mac Pro 1,1 runs WoW on a 30" display with all the settings up at maximum at 40FPS+. I bought mine from Apple because I didn't want to go through the hassle and (slight) warranty risk of flashing a PC one. It's a great card, though.
     
  8. hellfire88 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    #8
    The ATI 4870 is probably the best card you can get now. Highly recommended (plays WoW at max settings for me @ 1920x1200).
     
  9. prechrchet thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    #9
    I got the card...

    and with it came two power cords.

    Are they necessary for a Mac Pro 1,1, and if so, where do I plug them in?
     
  10. Washac macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #10
    All the way :):):):)
     
  11. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #11
    Yes. Plug them into the card and power supply as I think they are power connectors
     
  12. prechrchet thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    #12
    follow up question

    I finally figured out that I need power cords, but that the ones that came with the card aren't going to work.

    I have tried a couple of links mentioned in the threads on this topic, but they only take me to the ATI Store home page.

    Any suggestions as to where I can get the cords that I need?
     
  13. prechrchet thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    #13
    Do they fit on a Mac Pro?
     
  14. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #14
    hmm if you arent aware of what flashing a card is - i REALLY don't insist that you do it.

    the X1900 is quite old, but should be pretty reasonable for you - i wonder what other cards are available? you should search for that answer.
     
  15. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #15
    Yes, they are normal 6-pin power connectors, you may need a splitter though, but send me pic of your Mac Pro (mainly PSU)

    Well, he could get the same ATI 4870 for 349$ from Apple but that exactly same card was half of that. With Zeus tool, flashing is pretty easy but the problem here is that he has problems installing it
     
  16. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #16
    true... pretty expensive hey!

    if he can ensure that the plugs/power are correct then i guess that it is worth a try!
     
  17. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #17
    Yea and it could work fine without them but not at full power, but so many people has 4870 in 1.1 Mac Pro so he just can't find the right ports/cables.
     
  18. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #18
    yup correcto- are you sure its supported on the 1,1?
     
  19. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #19
    Apple says it isn't but it works perfectly

    "I have a 1st Generation Mac Pro that I purchased in early 2007. Will it work in that machine?"

    "The card works just fine in all apple mac pros: 06,07,08,09 at full speed.

    Tested and true.
    Running one on my Macpro 1.1 (2006) just fine,installation took 4 min"
     
  20. Dark Dragoon macrumors 6502a

    Dark Dragoon

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #20
    You need two power cables which go from the motherboard to the graphics card, I don't think any PC 4870 will come with the correct leads to do this. mine certainly didn't, as unfortunately although they are a standard type of connector they are not widely used by PC's.

    The two power connectors are on the motherboard close to where the front fan is located, theres a bit of the plastic housing cut out where the cables plug into the connectors.

    I had one which came with the computer as my Mac Pro 1,1 came with an ATi X1900 XT, however I had to buy the second one off eBay. If you search for something like "mac power cable" you should find some.

    This is assuming you bought a PC card to flash, if you bought the Apple card then it should come with the correct power cables.
     
  21. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #21
    oohhh right. thanks for clearing that up!
     
  22. prechrchet thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
  23. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #23
  24. Dark Dragoon macrumors 6502a

    Dark Dragoon

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #24
    I think all 4870's need two power cables,
    I guess you could try using a splitter though I wouldn't recommend doing that.

    If the graphics card you have has two power sockets then would buy two leads.

    EDIT: just checking but what card did you buy?
     
  25. prechrchet thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    #25
    I bought the one that is linked earlier in this thread from Newegg.

    thanks!
     

Share This Page