Video Card Options for 2008 Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by LiamHD, Jun 5, 2014.

  1. LiamHD macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    #1
    I have just purchased A 2008 Mac Pro with a ATI x2600XT inside. I am aware that this card is somewhat of a upgrade from the X1900XT that ships with the standard 08 Mac Pro configuration however it is not good enough for what i'm going to be doing. I would like a reasonably priced card which will work with my Mac Pro. I am looking for a sub £100 card. What are my options?
     
  2. Macsonic macrumors 65816

    Macsonic

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    Earth
    #2
    Right now I could think of the Radeon 4870 512mb card if price is your priority. Another choice is Radeon 5770hd though price is higher. You may also consider PC flashed cards of the above models. Another option is the Nvidia 120GT. This card is a lower model compared to the 4870.
     
  3. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #3
    Actually the 1900XT was the optional card. Both cards are crap however and have caused a lot of folks a lot of problems.

    See this thread for recommendations for a 3,1 Mac Pro.

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1687395&highlight=gtx+570

    BTW, my GTX 570 mentioned in that thread is still available.

    Lou
     
  4. LiamHD thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    #4
    Okay I will check out those two cards, thanks for the help :)

    ----------

    I will have a look in the thread and see what I can find, Thanks for the help :)
     
  5. LiamHD thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    #6
    To be honest I never thought of running a setup like that I will have a look and see if it's possible.
     
  6. LiamHD thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    #7
    Can I leave the X2600XT in the slot that it is in and run the GTX650 from the slot above? Like this:

    GTX650-Nothing Connected
    X2600XT- Monitor Connected

    Will PS and AE make use of the 650 up there or not?
     
  7. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #8
    No, the card that is running the display is responsible for the performance.
     
  8. LiamHD thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    #9
    So I will have to rub the GTX and I guess take the lack of boot screen as a downside of the card
     
  9. gpzjock, Jun 8, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2014

    gpzjock macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    #10
    How often do you need a bootscreen? I have had no bootscreen PC cards (4870 & 5870 Sapphires) in my MP 3,1 since 2010 and have only swapped in my 8800GT mac card once in 4 years. You could keep the 2600XT in an upper slot and just swap your monitor to it when a bootscreen is required. Use the 650 the other 99% of the time.:D

    No bootscreen but an awesome card in its day.
    sapphire-5870-scan-front.jpg
     
  10. LiamHD thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    #11
    That is one nice looking card! I might grab one for my Win7 Gaming Rig.
     
  11. gpzjock macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    #12
    I wouldn't, they are pretty much 4 year old tech, get a newer Nvidia card for a Gaming rig.
    I put a Palit GTX770 in my Hackintosh, it flies:

    b1970.jpg
     
  12. LiamHD thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    #13
    Bet that 770 cost a few penny's?
     
  13. LorenK macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Location:
    Illinois
    #14
    I am running a GTX 660 in my 3,1, using a Panasonic 30" as my monitor and a Pioneer 60" plasma for movies. I am happy. And I don't miss a bootscreen.

    As to other choices, remember the power demand of the card. The 660 was the best that I could find without considering upgrading my power source, other cards require more wattage and what I read recommended more power than what comes out of the box.
     
  14. LiamHD thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    #15
    Had a look at 660 and they are still holding on to their value
     
  15. gpzjock macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    #16
    Over £300 of my £1200 Hackintosh budget but worth every penny. :D
     
  16. LiamHD thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    #17
    What will the Nvidia GT 210 be like in terms of performance in Final Cut Pro X, because the 2600 is really struggling.
     
  17. OS6-OSX macrumors 6502a

    OS6-OSX

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    California
    #18
    Like a 12lb anchor!
     
  18. LiamHD thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    #19
    It's got to be an upgrade over the 2600? I mean if I can render at 1080p with the 2600 surely the newer 210 with 96 Cuda cores and also HDMI out as well as having double the Vram and clock speed of the 2600 will do things a lot better. I'm not looking for 5 second render times or anything as I'm currently on a very tight budget.
     
  19. gpzjock, Jun 17, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2014
  20. LiamHD thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    #21
  21. gpzjock macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    #22
    For £20 anything that can run a screen is a bargain. :D
     
  22. LiamHD thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    #23
    I know hence the purchase of the GT 210 :)
     
  23. LiamHD thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    #24
    GT 210 has been installed and is 10x better than the X2600XT. My display is actually recognised by it model number and not just "VGA Display" also my resolution has been automatically set with the correct res now instead of me having to manually do it.
     
  24. gpzjock macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009

Share This Page