Video card question

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by MacAir23, Jul 24, 2012.

  1. MacAir23 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012
    #1
    I was looking at system info on my Macbook Air and it says "Intel HD Graphics 4000 512 MB". Does the 512 MB part mean that it will only take 512 MB of ram max? If so is there a way to have it take more?
     
  2. jmfel1926 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    #2
    yes i think it is the most it can get from ram . this is the shared max memory. i don't think you can do something with that . it is fixed
     
  3. sk8r1230 macrumors 6502

    sk8r1230

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Location:
    Indiana
  4. MacAir23 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012
    #4
    I doubt it but there is no hack or something you can do that apple doesn't approve of?
     
  5. marioman38 macrumors 6502a

    marioman38

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Elk Grove, CA
    #5
    Wouldn't matter anyways, vRAM is NOT the bottleneck, processing speed is. What could you possibly do on an Air that needs more than 512mb vram?
     
  6. MacAir23 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012
    #6
    I was just hoping to run Guild Wars 2 smoothly without a low frame rate. Since I get an employee discount I have the air upgraded to the max

    Processor 2 GHz Intel Core i7
    Memory 8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
    Graphics Intel HD Graphics 4000 512 MB
     
  7. kyjaotkb macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Location:
    London, UK
    #7
    OSX always shows max available VRAM. On Windws, it all depends on the driver. My old PC laptop showed 1256 MB (256 dedicated + 1000 max shared), now under Bootcamp windows shows 64MB VRAM (min available for Windows) whereas my HD3000 4GB MBA goes up to 384MB.
     

Share This Page