video card question

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by rdsii64, Jul 8, 2013.

  1. rdsii64 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    #1
    Since OSX doesn't support crossfire or SLI, I have a weird question. If I had two video cards in my machine, and were using an application that takes advantage of OpenCL or CUDA, which of the two cards would do the heavy lifting?
     
  2. GermanyChris macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #2
    Depends on the application.
     
  3. The-Pro macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #3
    Most applications will let you choose which one.
    Other apications will just use the GPU you have your screen attached too and some applications, like in my case Octane Render, can use all GPUs in the Mac Pro.

    So you need to tell us what applications your using. But you could just use google and tje tech support from the developers of the application
     
  4. rdsii64 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    #4
    video card stuff

    The only applications I am concerned about is final cut pro X motion 5 and compressor 4.
     
  5. The-Pro macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #5
    Write to apple support.
    I didnt find anything in a few minutes of googleing.
     

Share This Page